Get this crazy baby off my head!


Chris Duarte

Chris Duarte - Something Old, Something New, Something Borrowed, All Things Blue - 2009 - Blues Bureau Int'L

This 2009 Blues Bureau International release rounds up highlights from Chris Duarte’s previous albums for the label (hence, the “something old”) and adds the previously unreleased “Outside Man” and three live cuts (“something new”). The new cuts are as reliable slices of modern blues-rock as the previously released tracks, so this winds up being a solid sampler of a sturdy group of records © Stephen Thomas Erlewine © 2014 AllMusic, a division of All Media Network, LLC. | All Rights Reserved http://www.allmusic.com/album/something-old-something-new-something-borrowed-all-things-blue-mw0001381363

Dynamic, high energy blues rock reminiscent of SRV, Robin Trower, Jimi Hendrix and Eric Johnson. Chris is as expressive with his vocals as he is with his electric guitar playing and this album is another memorable, inspired album from an underrated songwriter and hugely talented guitarist. In effect this is a compilation album. Eight of the tracks have been released before, and there is one new studio track (Track 9), and four unreleased live tracks, (Tracks 10-13). If you are not familiar with Chris Duarte’s musical talent, then this album is a good introduction to the man. The album is HR by A.O.O.F.C. Check this blog for more Chris Duarte albums. Listen to Chris Duarte Group’s great “Blues in the Afterburner” album. Buy his “Infinite Energy” album and support high grade blues rock and great guitar playing [All tracks @ 320 Kbps: File size = 182 Mb]


1. Amy Lee 6:28
2. Sun Prairie Blues 9:21
3. Something Wicked 13:06
4. The Best That I Can Do 3:40
5. Satisfy 3:55
6. Let's Have A Party 3:21
7. Back In Town 4:55
8. Chattahoochee Side 7:13
9. Outside Man 4:50
10. 101 (Live Bootleg) 5:35
11. Badness (Live Bootleg) 3:56
12. Like Eric (Live Bootleg) 5:25
13. Free 4 Me (Live Bootleg) 5:07

All tracks composed by Chris Duarte except Track 7 composed by Bluestone Co. & Chris Duarte


Chris Duarte - Guitars, Vocals on all Tracks
Toshihiro Sumitomo - Guitar: Slide Guitar on Track 8
Bass - Dustin Sargent on Tracks 1,2,3,& 9: Joseph Patrick Moore on Tracks 4,5,& 6: Yoshihiro Ogasahara on Tracks 7 & 8: Matt Stallard on Tracks 10, 11, 12, & 13
Drums - Damien Lewis on Tracks 1,2,3,& 9: Jeff Reilly on Tracks 4,5,& 6: Taizo Takafuji on Tracks 7 & 8: Chris Burroughs on Tracks 10, 11, 12, & 13
Taro Takagi - Percussion on Tracks 7 & 8
Jesse Bradman - Backing Vocals on Tracks 7 & 8


Austin-based guitarist, songwriter, and singer Chris Duarte has often been compared with the late Stevie Ray Vaughan. It's heady stuff for the musician, who plays a rhythmic style of Texas blues-rock that is at times reminiscent of Vaughan's sound, and at other times reminiscent of Johnny Winter. The truth is, Duarte has his own sound that draws on elements of jazz, blues, and rock & roll. Although he is humbled by the comparisons with the late Vaughan, the San Antonio-raised musician began playing out in clubs there when he was 15 years old. After Duarte moved to Austin when he was 16, he began taking his guitar playing much more seriously, and at that time, Vaughan was still around playing in Austin-area clubs. Duarte was one of those lucky few thousand who got to see Vaughan at the Continental Club before the late guitarist got his first break with David Bowie. After a short stint in an Austin jazz band, Duarte joined Bobby Mack & Night Train and began getting heavily into blues at that point. He traveled all over Texas with that band before a big break came his way in 1994, when New York-based Silvertone Records released his critically praised debut album, Texas Sugar/Strat Magik. Tailspin Headwhack followed in 1997 and Love Is Greater Than Me appeared three years later. Romp from 2003 featured a cover version of Bob Dylan's "One More Cup" and was followed by the 2007 album Blue Velocity, 2008's Vantage Point, 2009's 396 and 2010's Infinite Energy. My Soul Alone showed up early in 2013. © Richard Skelly © 2014 AllMusic, a division of All Media Network, LLC. | All Rights Reserved http://www.allmusic.com/artist/chris-duarte-mn0000109263/biography

1 comment:

A.O.O.F.C said...


P/W is aoofc