Get this crazy baby off my head!


Shane Theriot

Shane Theriot - The Grease Factor - 2003 - Shose

A heavy hitting dose of modern rock/jazz compositions mixed with equal doses of New Orleans funk. One of Shane’s more “guitar intensive” records that is a favorite among musicians and groove-lovers alike. Featuring some of the funkiest musicians on the planet- including Victor Wooten, Russell Batiste (The Funky Meters), Jeff Sipe (Apt Q-258), Johnny Vidacovich, Jeff Coffin (Bela Fleck), Kirk Joseph (Dirty Dozen), Johnny Neel (Gov’t Mule) and others…© Shane Theriot 2010 http://www.shanetheriot.com/products-page/discography/

A solid album of good progressive jazz-blues with fusion, and some New Orleans style funk in the mix. Shane is a terrific guitarist who doesn't need to rely on meandering mind numbing guitar solos to get his point across. He is a classy, subtle, stylish and polished guitarist with a great sense of thematic development. Some of the great musicians on this album include Victor Wooten, Russell Batiste, Jeff Sipe, Johnny Vidacovich, Jeff Coffin, Kirk Joseph, and Johnny Neel. Many of these musicians have played with bands of the calibre of the Neville Brothers, The Meters, Govt. Mule, The Allman Bros, Spyro Gyra, and the Rippingtons. "The Grease Factor" is a Grade A jazz rock/fusion album and HR by A.O.O.F.C. Buy Shane's "Dirty Power" album, and support great music. His "Highway 90" album can be found on this blog [All tracks @ 320 Kbps: File size = 119 Mb]


1 Little Hat 4:50
2 Swish 5:12
3 Zodiac 4:08
4 Shrimp Boots 3:40
5 Dublin 5:43
6 Mr. Longhair 5:57
7 The Apartment 5:44
8 Slow 5:42
9 Woody 5:17
10 Zydefaux 3:52
11 Dear Ellen 1:14

All tracks composed by Shane Theriot except "Shrimp Boots" by Shane Theriot & Joseph Belote


Shane Theriot, Johnny Vidacovich, Jeff Sipe, Victor Wooten, Adam Nitti, Johnny Neel, Jeff Coffin, Tony Hall, Michael Goods, Manny Yanes, Russell Batiste, Jim Roberts, Kirk Joseph, Doug Belote, David Johnson, Mark Mullins, Kiyoshi Tamai, Steve Conn, David Northrup


Guitarist/composer Shane Theriot (pronounced Terry-o) hails from the New Orleans area and has been playing guitar since age 11. A top honors GIT grad that was recommended for a teaching position by Scott Henderson at age 20, Shane briefly taught at the Atlanta Institute of Music before making a move to Nashville, where he lived and worked for 8 years before moving back to New Orleans. Theriot’s versatility in both the studio and stage have led to work with many artists in virtually all styles of music. At age 25, he joined the world-renowned Neville Brothers, touring and performing internationally as a member for 8 years, all while continuing to work and record with other artists. Some of the many artists that Shane has recorded and/or performed with include The Neville Brothers, LeAnn Rimes, Willie Nelson, Jewel, Boz Scaggs, John Waite, Idris Mohammed, Leni Stern, Dr. John, Sam Moore, Nick Nolte, Shannon McNally, Aaron Neville, The SYN (with Chris Squire and Alan White from YES), Little Feat, Forest Whitaker, Harry Shearer and Madeleine Peyroux. All of his acclaimed solo records (Hwy 90, The Grease Factor and the most recent Dirty Power) feature burning guitar lines behind the hottest rhythm sections in New Orleans while showcasing his great compositional abilities. (Dweezil Zappa recently chose the composition ‘Shrimp Boots’ from The Grease Factor the winner hands down of the Broadjam Solo Contest out of nearly 500 contestants.) Shane has also authored several instructional books (New Orleans Funk Guitar Styles – Alfred Publishing) and columns for many publications including Guitar Player Magazine. As an emerging composer for TV and Film, his credits include MTV, Discovery Channel, A&E, CMT, VH1 and ESPN. He is co-owner of Fudge Recording Studio in the historic Lower Garden District of New Orleans, La. http://www.fudgerecordingstudio.com/ © Shane Theriot 2010 http://www.shanetheriot.com/biography/

1 comment:

A.O.O.F.C said...