Get this crazy baby off my head!


David Grissom

David Grissom - 10,000 Feet - 2009 - Wide Lode Records

David Grissom is one of Texas' premier Rock, Blues, and Americana guitarists who has toured and recorded with artists such as Storyville, John Mellencamp, Joe Ely, , The Allman Brothers Band, Dixie Chicks, James McMurtry, Webb Wilder, Chris Isaak, Robben Ford, Ringo Starr, Buddy Guy, John Mayall, and many others. David moved to Austin in 1983 and quickly became a stalwart on the vibrant local scene playing with both Lucinda Williams and Lou Ann Barton. He joined Texas legend Joe Ely’s band in 1985 and toured and recorded nonstop until 1991 when he joined John Mellencamp’s band. David made 3 records with John and toured extensively from 1991 through 1993. After, Mellencamp, David went back to Texas to form Storyville, the band that included the Double Trouble rhythm section and powerhouse vocalist Malford Milligan. He recently played on Buddy Guy’s 2011 Grammy Award winning Living Proof CD. He is the author of the book “A Guide To Blues/Rock Guitar Soloing.” In 2007 Paul Reed Smith introduced the DGT, David’s signature model guitar that represents the culmination of a 25 year relationship working with Paul on the design and improvements of their guitars from a touring/session player’s perspective. He is also currently working with Doug Sewell and PRS to help develop their new line of amps. His first solo CD entitled “Loud Music” was independently released on the Wide Lode label in July 2007. His second Cd, “10,000 Feet” was released in March of 2009. “Way Down Deep” is David’s third solo release. Backed by the powerhouse rhythm section of J.J. Johnson (John Mayer, Derek Trucks) and Chris Maresh (Eric Johnson, Bonnie Raitt), this effort finds Grissom digging deeper into the Austin Blues/Rock vein he is well known for. Equally divided between vocal and instrumental tunes, Way Down Deep features blistering guitar work and lyrics reflecting an artist embracing change and growth. © 2012 David Grissom. All Rights Reserved © http://davidgrissom.com/

David Grissom has said that "I can remember being 9 or 10 years old and hearing that guitar lick in the Beatles song “Got to Get You into My Life.” Something magic clicked in my head that drew me to the guitar. Then I heard more Beatles stuff, Stones, and Hendrix. Later, I really got into the Allman Brothers, B.B. King, Magic Sam, [Paul] Butterfield Blues Band. When I was 15, a guitar teacher who was a jazz guy, turned me on to Wes Montgomery. Louisville was kind of a pass-through point for the jazz musicians working the chitlin’ circuit. Also, Jimmy Raney lived in Louisville. I actually took a lesson from him once—he gave me a lot of confidence. Growing up in Louisville, we had a big bluegrass festival every summer, and I got to hear Doc Watson and Norman Blake. I can’t point to anything that I play and say, “I learned that from Norman Blake,” but there were things like the way he does doublestops and rolls, and the way he phrases that sounded musical to me. Touring with the Dixie Chicks in 2003, right after they had done their bluegrass record, I had the chance to work with some guys that were for-real bluegrass players, and I learned so much from them. I just combined all of those things into a blend that appealed to me." I (A.O.O.F.C) am not a great fan of "Country" music, but neither am I enthusiastic about defining musical genres. Even if this album is slightly 'over produced' and some of the music borders on the AOR commercial side, David is able to blend some amazing instrumentals and vocal selections into a great blend of rock, blues, and Texas country with great tones, and great playing. His guitar and songwriting skills are Grade A, and this album from the Louisville-born, Austin-based picker is HR by A.O.O.F.C. Sometimes "Country" music gets unfairly slagged off, but listen to John Fogerty's "Centrefield" and "Deja Vu (All Over Again)" albums, or any of James McMurtry's albums and you may have a different opinion on just how diverse this music genre can be. I have also stated before on this blog that no music is exempt from being posted as long as it has musical merit. Check out David's "Loud Music" album, and Storyville's brilliant "Piece Of Your Soul" album [Tracks @ 224-320 Kbps: File size = 82.5 Mb]


1. Keep A Rollin' On - David Grissom 4:45
2. 10,000 Feet - David Grissom 4:47
3. Sqwawk - David Grissom 5:37
4. Ain't No Game At All - David Grissom, Ryan Beaver 4:02
5. Take Me Back To Texas - David Grissom, Ryan Beaver 4:12
6. Butterbean Friday - David Grissom 5:35
7. Jet Trails In The Sky - David Grissom, Chad Hudson, Helen Darling 3:24
8. Gone And Lonesome - David Grissom 5:03
9. Dover Soul - David Grissom 4:13
10. Ain't No Other Way 4:52
11. True Love Don't Work That Way - David Grissom, Stephen Bruton 4:12
12. Good Day For The Blues - David Grissom 4:59


David Grissom - Guitar, Bass, Vocals
Scott Nelson - Bass
Michael Ramos - Keyboards
Kenny Aronoff, Chris Layton - Drums
Warren Hood - Fiddle
Carolyn Wonderland - Background Vocals


David Grissom (fl. since 1978) is an American session guitarist who has played and toured with several of America's leading bands and recording artists. David Grissom, currently of Austin, Texas, is a guitarist known for his early work with Joe Ely, for whom he was the main guitarist between 1985-1991. While still recording with Ely, Grissom went on to join the John Mellencamp Band. Following Mellencamp, he went on to form the critically acclaimed Storyville with Malford Milligan (vocals), David Holt (guitar), and Double Trouble together with Tommy Shannon (bass) and Chris Layton (drums). David Grissom has since toured with the Allman Brothers and the Dixie Chicks. On May 19, 2007, at a free concert titled "The Road To Austin", Bobby Whitlock performed his electric version of the definitive rock music love songs, Layla and Why Does Love Got To Be So Sad with dueling guitars courtesy of David Grissom and Eric Johnson. Grissom released his first solo album, Loud Music, in 2007. He has also recorded sessions, played and toured with a number of other American recording artists, including Buddy Guy, Chris Isaak, Sarah Hickman and Bob Dylan. David Grissom recently recorded with Owen Temple on his latest album, Two Thousand Miles, produced by Lloyd Maines. 2009 saw Grissom release his second solo album "10,000 Feet" featuring 11 new songs plus an acoustic version of "Good Day For The Blues" original recorded with Storyville


Anonymous said...

Any chance you'd upload this one again?

A.O.O.F.C said...

Hi,Anon. Try