Get this crazy baby off my head!


Greg Howe

Greg Howe - Parallax - 1995 - Shrapnel

Following the same outline of his previous two solo instrumental albums, 1993's Introspection and 1994's Uncertain Terms, Greg Howe's Parallax doesn't offer any surprises, but delivers mind-blowing guitar performances by the truckload. Howe continues to explore the more "outside" chromaticisms heard in fusion more often than rock, while his guitar tone has evolved from a brash, metallic sound (heard in his earlier work) to a smooth, compressed signal, which suits his extended legato forays quite well. Although the production values are rather clinical-sounding (especially those triggered drums), there's plenty of spirited playing here. The wah-wah-inflected funk soloing of the opening track "Howe 'Bout It" is frenetic and fun, and is the most accessible stuff on the album. Elsewhere, Howe's ability to cover sheer chromatic yardage in a single bound is nothing short of astounding; combining melodic arpeggio ideas, atonal passages, and unbelievable wide-interval phrasing, he is a virtual catalog of all modern guitar techniques. Each solo, while delivered with jaw-dropping speed and stamina, has a logical sense of phrasing behind it, making it more than just pure flash. It all gets a bit samey after a while, especially to the average listener. But guitar geeks will revel in the over-the-top decadence of this highly indulgent instrumental shred-fest. © Andy Hinds © 2013 Rovi Corp | All Rights Reserved http://www.allmusic.com/album/release/parallax-mr0000053926

Reminiscent at times of Tribal Tech and Chick Corea's bands, Greg Howe's "Parallax" is comprised of aggressive rock/fusion compositions which highlight Howe's incredible command of the guitar. More funk oriented and syncopated than Howe's three previous recordings, Howe serves up a heavy yet unpredictable combination of '90s high tech guitar blended with '70s fusion influences. "Parallax" standouts include "Roundhouse", "Time Off" and "Howe 'Bout It" - three gems among the nine melodically intense instrumental workouts. © 1996-2013 Guitar Nine All Rights Reserved http://www.guitar9.com/parallax.html

Many people regard Greg Howe as the “best” guitarist in the world today, but there are so many different guitar styles and musical genres in existence, that the word “best” is probably too general a word to use when speaking about technically brilliant guitarists. Listen to Paul Gilbert and Guthrie Govan who, like Greg Howe are masters of the instrument and are proving that the “impossible” is now “possible” on a fretboard. If you like jazz rock/fusion instrumental guitar of the highest calibre, “Parallax” should not disappoint you. Check out Greg’s “Hyperacuity” and “Introspection” albums on this blog and listen to Greg’s 1988 s/t album [All tracks @ 320 Kbps: File size = 104 Mb]


1 Howe 'Bout It 5:31
2 Found Unwound 5:39
3 Dance 5:00
4 Time Off 7:11
5 Joker's Wild 6:00
6 The Portrait 3:19
7 Bottom Line 4:59
8 On Sail 5:13
9 Roundhouse 3:59

All tracks composed by Greg Howe


Greg Howe – Guitar, Keyboards
Andy Ramirez – Bass
Jon Dolman – Drums (except Track 7)
Kevin Soffera – Drums (Track 7)


Easton, PA's Greg Howe was a breath of fresh air amidst the seemingly never-ending stream of harmonic minor guitar virtuosos pouring forth from the Shrapnel Records label in the late '80s. While other post-Yngwie Malmsteen players of the "shred guitar" genre were pursuing the dramatic neo-classical vein, Howe brought a sense of funk and groove to the table that was sorely needed. Howe paid his dues playing the Easton/Allentown club circuit in the '80s with the band Duke, featuring his brother Al on lead vocals. When one of his instrumental demos grabbed the ear of talent scout and Shrapnel Records owner Mike Varney, Howe was signed to the Shrapnel label in 1987. His all-instrumental debut, Greg Howe, featuring the talents of Billy Sheehan and Atma Anur on bass and drums, respectively, was released in 1988, to considerable acclaim. Howe's second album, High Gear, released under the moniker Howe 2, was less a solo album than a Van Halen-styled band effort, featuring his brother Al Howe on lead vocals. The band broke up after releasing its more commercially minded follow-up, Now Hear This, in 1990 and Greg Howe returned to making all-instrumental albums in his home studio, taking a decidedly more fusion-styled direction. Howe released Introspection in 1993 and Uncertain Terms in 1994 and has continued to produce albums at a prolific rate since then. Aside from releasing Parallax and Five in 1995 and 1996, respectively, Howe collaborated with fellow Pennsylvania virtuoso and Shrapnel labelmate Richie Kotzen on the Tilt album in 1995 and again on 1997's Richie Kotzen/Greg Howe Project. His last Shrapnel album, Ascend, was released in 1999, followed by his debut on the Tone Center label, Hyperacuity, released in 2000.Outside of his solo career, Greg Howe is also a sought-after sideman who has toured with the likes of Michael Jackson and N'Sync. © Andy Hinds © 2013 Rovi Corp | All Rights Reserved http://www.allmusic.com/artist/greg-howe-mn0000195552

1 comment:

A.O.O.F.C said...


Password is aoofc