Get this crazy baby off my head!


The Eric Gales Band

The Eric Gales Band - Picture Of A Thousand Faces - 1993 Elektra

Want some exciting adult oriented melodic rock-look no further. Eric works his guitar in the manner of a young Hendrix, and likewise, sets it in a context of melody and drive. The songs have a tip of the hat to British rock, but live in the timeline of the U.S.tradition . It never fails to satisfy. By & © David Martin (Mt. Martha, Australia.) © 1996 - 2013 CD Universe http://www.cduniverse.com/review.asp?PID=1095712&style=music&action=showall

This is the 2nd album from the Eric Gales Band and includes includes Eric’s older brother Eugene on bass and vocals. This album concentrates more on songs than their debut album, The Eric Gales Band. This doesn’t mean that there is less guitar than the band’s first album. You’ve got the best of both worlds here. Tracks like "God Only Knows", "Angel Of The Night", "Take A Look (Deep Inside Of You)", and "Paralyzed” are really great songs and the all round guitar work from Eric is amazing. This left-handed guitarist of extraordinary ability and expressive vocals is a natural for people to compare to Hendrix. Gales has developed a unique hybrid blues/rock sound that also draws upon influences as diverse as Albert King and Eric Johnson. A unique amalgam of styles, Eric Gales stands head and shoulders among other guitarists in his genre. In 2004 Eric Gales made headline music news when he was chosen to perform with Carlos Santana, Joe Satriani, Jerry Cantrell and others on the Experience Hendrix tour to honor the late, great, Jimi Hendrix.Listen to The Eric Gales Band’s s/t album and support real music [All tracks @ 320 Kbps: File size = 119 Mb]


1 Paralyzed - Eugene Gales / Jack Ponti 4:35
2 Angel of the Night - Eric Gales / Eugene Gales / Hubert Crawford, Jr. 4:36
3 Picture of a Thousand Faces - Eugene Gales / Jack Ponti 4:56
4 God Only Knows - Eugene Gales / Terry Thomas 5:40
5 I Want You (She's So Heavy) - John Lennon / Paul McCartney 7:42
6 Temple of Deliverance - Eric Gales / Eugene Gales / Hubert Crawford, Jr. 5:12
7 Guilty of the Innocence - Eric Gales / Eugene Gales / Hubert Crawford, Jr. 5:14
8 Misty - Eric Gales / Eugene Gales 0:42
9 Take a Look (Deep Inside of You) - Eric Gales / Eugene Gales 4:52
10 Bang That Bell - Eugene Gales / Jack Ponti 4:05
11 Draw the Line - Eric Gales / Hubert Crawford, Jr. 6:31


Eric Gales - Guitar, Guitar (Bass), Vocals, Background Vocals
Eugene Gales - Guitar, Guitar (Bass), Slide Guitar, Vocals, Background Vocals
Hubert Crawford, Jr. - Drums, Percussion, Background Vocals
Terry Thomas, Jimmy Davis - Background Vocals


Blues guitar phenom Eric Gales was born and raised in Memphis, learning to play at age four from older brothers Eugene and Manuel in imitation of their upside-down, left-handed style (a tradition actually passed down from their grandfather, Dempsey Garrett Sr., who was known to jam with the likes of Muddy Waters and Howlin' Wolf). Winning his first blues contest at 11, four years later Eric signed to Elektra to issue his 1991 debut LP, recorded with Eugene on bass; Picture of a Thousand Faces followed in 1993. Manuel (who previously performed under the alias Little Jimmy King) reunited with his siblings for 1995's Left Hand Band, credited to the Gales Brothers. A newly matured Gales returned in spring 2001 to release his debut for MCA, That's What I Am. Often billed as the second coming of Jimi Hendrix, Gales, an adequate singer at best but a dynamite guitarist, suffered for the comparison. With Gales always influenced by Hendrix and the power trio format, his next albums, 2006's Crystal Vision and 2007's Psychedelic Underground, both released by Blues Bureau Records, seemed like facsimile Hendrix albums, right down to the album art. His next two releases from Blues Bureau, 2008's The Story of My Life and 2009's Layin' Down the Blues, found the Hendrix influence muted somewhat, but Gales, a breathtaking guitarist at times, still seemed to be looking for a way out of the Hendrix shadow and into his own voice. Gales returned in 2010 with Relentless, a collection of 13 originals, and followed it with the passionate Transformation a year later in 2011. © Jason Ankeny © 2013 Rovi Corp | All Rights Reserved http://www.allmusic.com/artist/eric-gales-mn0000626332


Eric Gales (aka Raw Dawg) (born October 29, 1974, Memphis, Tennessee) is an American blues-rock guitarist, originally hailed as a child prodigy. As of 2011 Gales has recorded ten albums on major record labels, and has done session and tribute work. He has also contributed vocals on several records by the Memphis rap groups, Prophet Posse and Three 6 Mafia. Gales picked up the guitar at age four. His older siblings, Eugene and Manuel (Little Jimmy King), took to teaching him many songs and licks at a young age, in the style of Jimi Hendrix, Albert King, B. B. King and others. In 1985, the young Gales began to play at blues competitions with his brother Eugene backing him on bass. Although Gales plays a right-handed guitar "upside-down" (with the E-bass string on the bottom), he is not naturally left-handed; he was taught by his brother who is left-handed and never second-guessed the untraditional technique. In late 1990, Eric and Eugene Gales signed with Elektra Records, and together with drummer Hubert Crawford released 1991's The Eric Gales Band and 1993's Picture of a Thousand Faces. Guitar World magazine's Reader's Poll named Eric as "Best New Talent", in 1991. During this time he scored two rock radio hits, "Sign of the Storm" (#9 U.S. Mainstream Rock) and "Paralyzed" (#31 U.S. Mainstream Rock) and had spots on television programs such as The Arsenio Hall Show. In 1994 Eric performed with Carlos Santana at the Woodstock 94' concert. In 1995, Eric Gales teamed up with both of his brothers to record an album under the band name of The Gales Brothers. Left Hand Brand was released in 1996. 2001 saw Gales return with his album That's What I Am on MCA Records. Gales has more recently released the albums Crystal Vision, The Psychedelic Underground,The Story of my Life and Layin' Down the Blues on the Shrapnel Records label. His most recent album is 2010's Relentless, with a new album for 2011 entitled Transformation due in August. He maintains a strong friendship with record producer Mike Varney. Gales has one daughter, Jasmine (born 1992), and on August 31, 2001 he married Susan Gales. In 2004, he contributed a cover of "May This Be Love" to the album Power of Soul: A Tribute to Jimi Hendrix. In 2008, he, along with other guitarists, participated in the touring tribute to Jimi Hendrix, Experience Hendrix. the touring group of musicians included Billy Cox (of Band of Gypsys fame), Eric Johnson, Chris Layton (drummer for Stevie Ray Vaughan's rhythm section, Double Trouble), Doyle Bramhall II, Brad Whitford (of Aerosmith) and was the last tour that Mitch Mitchell played on. In the winter of 2010, Gales returned to the touring circuit in Europe with TM Stevens on bass guitar and Keith LeBlanc on drums. The tour was billed as VooDoo Chile and featured works of Jimi Hendrix as well as original material from both Gales and Stevens.

1 comment:

A.O.O.F.C said...


Password is aoofc