Get this crazy baby off my head!


Blues Underground

Blues Underground - On My Way Back Home - 1995 - Del-Fi Records Inc.

A Los Angeles group, Blues Underground features the vocals of Roy Jones, with Dan Bachar on guitar, Michael Sunday on bass, Walt Thompson on keyboards, and either Danny Santoro or Marc Van Aken on drums. A native of Humphrey, Arkansas, Jones is a commanding presence with his taut, soaring vocals and impeccable phrasing (bringing Mighty Sam McClain to mind.) Ten of the disc's fifteen songs are covers, but with tight and tasteful support from the band Jones manages to breathe new life into such war-horses as The Thrill is Gone and Messin' with the Kid. Look past the generic band name and cover art and get this CD .-- JDK" -- Living Blues, March/April 1996

A great album . This debut album from Blues Underground is Memphis Soul at it's best, with dynamic, high energy smooth soulful grooves and a strong dash of Delta Blues. There are five great originals from Roy Jones and Dan Bachar, and ten covers of songs by Elmore James, B.B King, Booker T. Jones, Johnny Copeland, and Willie Dixon. The covers of "St. James Infirmary", "The Thrill Is Gone", "Messin' With The Kid", "The Sky Is Crying", and "Born Under A Bad Sign" are stamped with the unique sound of Blues Underground, and especially the terrific vocalist, Roy Jones. Blues Underground were a very popular Southern California band who were signed to Del-Fi Records by Bob Keane and sold many albums locally. They opened for John Mayall and the Bluesbreakers, & Junior Walker and the All Stars, at the famous Hollywood House of Blues venue, and also played as the main band there over twenty times. As well as singing with Blues Underground, Roy Jones also had a successful run in the Broadway musical "Dreamgirls". His TV work included roles in "St. Eleswhere", "Hill Street Blues", "Family Matters", "Hunter", "Diagnosis: Murder", and "Third Rock From The Sun". His movie work includes "Harlem Nights", "Big Wednesday" and "Daredevil". A talented guy. "On My Way Back Home" is HR by A.O.O.F.C. If anybody has any more info on this band, A.O.O.F.C would appreciate your comments


1 The Thrill Is Gone - Roy Hawkins, Rick Darnell
2 Messin' With The Kid - Melvin London
3 St.James Infirmary - Joe Primrose (aka Irving Mills)
4 On My Way Back Home - Dan Bachar
5 Love And Understanding - Roy Jones
6 The Sky Is Crying - Elmore James, C.Lewis
7 You Upset Me - Joe Josea, B.B King
8 It's Been So Long - Dan Bachar
9 Born Under A Bad Sign - Booker T. Jones, William Bell
10 Why Did She Go ? - Dan Bachar, Roy Jones
11 Bring Your Fine Self Home - Johnny Copeland
12 You Have All My Love - Roy Jones
13 The Same Thing - Willie Dixon
14 Big Legged Woman - G. Phillips, J. Taub
15 I'll Play The Blues For You - Jerry Beach


Dan Bachar - guitar
Michael Sunday - bass
Walt Thompson - keyboards
Danny Santoro, Marc Van Aken - drums
Tom Hunt - harmonica
Roy Jones - vocals