Get this crazy baby off my head!



Isotope - Deep End - 1975 - Gull

"Deep End" is Isotope's third studio album. The band was formed in 1973 by guitarist Gary Boyle with three other experienced jazz musicians, Nigel Morris, Brian Miller & Jeff Clyne (ex Nucleus). The band released three good albums during the mid 70s, which were well received. Many music critics compared the band's fusion style to John McLaughlin's Mahavishnu Orchestra. By the time "Deep End" was recorded, the band featured Gary and Nigel Morris with Dan K. Brown on bass and Zoe Kronberger and Frank Roberts on keyboards. "Deep End" is a wonderful album of pure funk fusion from this often overlooked Canterbury influenced progressive jazz rock fusion band, and VHR by A.O.O.F.C. The album has been re-issued numerous times since 1975 with different track sequences, and different bonus tracks. Some editions include the track "Sliding Dogs/Lion Sandwich" (Not included here). The post here is the 2011 expanded edition on the Esoteric/Cherry Red label which features the original eight tracks + 4 bonus tracks (2001 remixes of "Mr.M's Picture", "Crunch Cake", "Black Sand", and "Deep End"). For music in the same vein, search this blog for albums by Ian Carr/Ian Carr's Nucleus. Three other albums worth hearing are Gary Boyle's wonderful "Games" album, Brand X's "Moroccan Roll" album, and Nucleus' "Labyrinth" album. Check out Isotope & Gary Boyle's "Live At The BBC" album on this blog. Also check out the late Hugh Hopper, and Brian Auger on this blog [All tracks @ 320 Kbps: File size = 153 Mb]


1. Mr. M's Picture (4:54) Boyle
2. Crunch Cake (3:55) Roberts
3. Another Side (4:00) Kronberger
4. Black Sand (5:45) Morris
5. Pipe Dream (6:27) Scott
6. Attila (4:25) Boyle
7. Fonebone (4:25) Hopper
8. Deep End (8:22) Boyle
9. Mr. M's Picture [Remix 2001] Boyle (4:54) *
10. Crunch Cake [Remix 2001] Roberts (3:55) *
11 .Black Sand [Remix 2001] Morris (5:55) *
12. Deep End [Remix 2001] Boyle (8:18) *

* 2011 Bonus CD Tracks


Gary Boyle - Acoustic & Electric Guitars
Dan K. Brown - Bass
Neville Whitehead - Acoustic Bass
Hugh Hopper - Bass on "Fonebone"
Zoe Kronberger - Acoustic & Electric Piano, String Synth, Clavinet, Vocals
Frank Roberts - Acoustic & Electric Piano, Synthesizer
Laurence Scott - Additional Synthesizer on "Fonebone"
Nigel Morris - Drums
Morris Pert - Percussion


The more-jazz-than-rock fusion band Isotope may have not had the longest career, but they played an integral part in the Canterbury Scene with some of its key players spending time in the band. Guitarist Gary Boyle had been playing in Dusty Springfield's band for a couple of years before he caught the prog rock bug. He got it while playing in Brian Auger & the Trinity and afterward decided to go back to school to further his musical studies. After leaving school he played with Keith Tippett and Mike Gibbs, but it was in Stomu Yamash'ta's East West band that he met drummer Nigel Morris. The two formed Isotope in 1973 and soon bassist Jeff Clyne was onboard. The band's self-titled debut appeared in 1974, followed soon after by Clyne's departure. Former East West bassist Hugh Hopper joined the band in March of 1974, the same year Boyle was to place third in the category of "Best British Guitarists" in Melody Maker's reader poll. Keyboardist Laurence Scott was added to the band for 1975's Illusion and the band gathered more fans on a U.K. tour supporting Gong. Hopper and Scott left the band and were replaced by bassist Dan K. Brown and two keyboardists — Frank Roberts and Zoe Kronberger — for 1976's Deep End. Management and record company struggles caused the band to break up in 1977. The See for Miles label reissued the band's albums in the mid-'90s and Hux unearthed two radio sessions for 2004's Live at the BBC. © David Jeffries © 2010 Rovi Corporation. All Rights Reserved http://www.allmusic.com/cg/amg.dll?p=amg&sql=11:39ftxqu5ld0e~T1


This British jazz-rock group was founded in June 1972 by guitarist Gary Boyle, who had previously played with Dusty Springfield, Brian Auger and Eclection, as well as guesting on numerous jazz sessions. The original line-up of the band featured former Nucleus bassist Jeff Clyne, as well as two unknown young players he'd met on the jazz circuit : keyboardist/composer Brian Miller (who wrote almost all the tracks on the band's eponymous debut) and drummer Nigel Morris. The original line-up briefly featured Stan Sulzmann (sax) and Aureo De Souza (percussion°. The band soon signed with Gull Records in England and Motown (!) in the USA, and started touring colleges and clubs around Britain, as well as touring on the continent - France, Germany and Scandinavia. In March 1974, shortly after the release of the first album, a clash of egos led to Miller and Clyne suddenly leaving. They were replaced by Laurence Scott, a semi-pro keyboard player, and Hugh Hopper, whom Boyle had met while working with Stomu Yamash'ta. The new line-up embarked on a UK tour in June and July, followed by dates in Germany and the Netherlands in August. They then entered the studio, with Poli Palmer (ex-Eclection and Family) producing, to record Illusion. The writing was now shared equally between Boyle, Scott and Hopper. Intensive touring in Britain followed, and a US tour was undertaken in March and April 1975. Percussionist Aureo DeSouza was then added to the line-up for a European tour, and drummer Jeff Seopardie also reinforced the band for British dates later that year. In December 1975, Scott left and was replaced by Frank Roberts. At that point, management problems resulted in a very difficult financial situation and Hugh Hopper decided to leave. In March 1976, a third album, Deep End, was recorded (production duties were handled by Brand X's Robin Lumley), with Hopper playing on only his own composition "Fonebone". Bassist Dan K. Brown and second keyboardist Zoe Kronberger were added at that point, but gigs became sparser. There was one last line-up change in 1977, with only Boyle surviving from previous incarnations, alongside Geoff Downes on keyboards (later in Yes and Asia), Steve Shone on bass and Colin Wilkinson on drums, but this new Isotope never went beyond the rehearsal stage, only recording a couple of radio sessions. Gary Boyle subsequently embarked on a solo career. © http://calyx.perso.neuf.fr/bands/related.html


A.O.O.F.C said...


p/w if needed is aoofc

progman said...

Aahhh !! hats off for this one, I have had the other 2 albums, but never dreamt I'd hear/see this one. Absolutely splendid,and worth waiting 37 years for, many thanks to yourself and the guiding Neopixieos. cheers Pierre.

A.O.O.F.C said...

Hi,Pierre. Worth waiting for! Thanks, and I'll pass your thanks on to the El Supremo! TTU soon...P

daniel said...

Isotope, lo escucho no los conozco pero que agradable,
bastante bueno para mi.(Excelente)
Ahhh y la diferencia en blogs y música
la marca usted. Gracias.

A.O.O.F.C said...

Hola, daniel. Me encanta el jazz rock y blues. Isotope son uno de mis favoritos. Sin embargo, si tuviera que elegir una banda, es Steely Dan. Yo trato de variar toda la música y para asegurarse de que la música tiene su mérito. Además, trato de apoyar a los artistas menos conocidos. Muchas gracias por sus comentarios y espero que el siguiente comentario ... P

daniel said...

Su amabilidad es tan fina como el mismo Jazz., A mi me gusta mucho el grupo de Jazz Rock D.F.A de momento no recuerdo su Nacionalidad.
De ante mano le agradezco su atención, gracias.

A.O.O.F.C said...

Hola,daniel. Creo que DFA son de Italia. Ellos son un buen ejemplo de la roca grande del jazz. El D.F.A. 4 álbum es excelente. Me gusta la música original con un buen groove. Gracias por tus elogios. Voy a estar en contacto pronto. Mis mejores deseos .... P