Get this crazy baby off my head!


Mike Zito

Mike Zito - Pearl River - 2009 - Eclecto Groove Records

Guitarist Mike Zito was born in St. Louis, Missouri on November 19, 1970. He got his start in music by singing at local events at a young age. As a teenager he picked up the guitar and began playing regularly around his hometown. By 2008 Zito was releasing records on his own self-titled label while touring the U.S; this was also the year he signed with Eclecto Groove Records and released Today. Pearl River was released the following year, and Zito was awarded Song of the Year at the 2010 Blues Music Awards for the title track off that album. Zito released his final session on Eclecto Groove, Greyhound, in 2011. A track taken from that session, "Roll On," was featured on the TV show Sons of Anarchy. Also in 2011 Zito formed Royal Southern Brotherhood with Cyril Neville, guitarist Devon Allman (son of Gregg Allman), bassist Charlie Wooton (of Zydefunk), and Yonrico Scott (former drummer for the Derek Trucks Band). The group released its self-titled debut album on the Ruf label in 2012, and Zito also debuted his new band, the Wheel, that year. © Al Campbell © 2013 Rovi Corp | All Rights Reserved http://www.allmusic.com/artist/mike-zito-mn0000994328/biography

Mike Zito is one who enjoys returning to his blues roots, playing electric guitar and ripping though songs with his sawtooth-sharp voice. Pearl River -- his fifth album -- is quite different than the previous effort Today, which was more rock-oriented, and focuses on not only contemporary urban tunes but a few acoustic folk-oriented ones, and the basis of all of his music, the sound of New Orleans. He's got help from guitarist Anders Osborne and keyboardist Reese Wynans from Stevie Ray Vaughan's band, and there are guest appearances from Cyril Neville, Johnny Sansone, Lynwood Slim, Randy Chortkoff (also his producer,) and Susan Cowsill (yes, she of the Cowsills fame). It's good to hear Zito dig deep into songs like the title track, Neville's pure, slow blues, the New Orleans shuffle treatment of Sonny Boy Williamson's "Eyesight to the Blind," and Mel London's rocksteady "Sugar Sweet." Zito is no slouch as a songwriter, and his "Dirty Blonde" is a swing jump blues, as he admonishes a lady "friend" for her entire persona being low-down and scurrilous from the neck down. He does get into some choogling voodoo à la Charlie Musselwhite, and plays toy piano on "The Dead of Night," while the acoustic tunes, especially with rising star Osborne, offer a sweeter side to Zito's normally rough exterior. With Cowsill, "Shoes Blues" is the most humorous song, and interactive as he trades lines with the former pop star/girl next door. This is not a cookie-cutter album from Zito and friends, as it shows off all the musical styles that have led him to the point of being an individualist. It's well worth the purchase price, and comes highly recommended. Michael © G. Nastos © 2013 Rovi Corp | All Rights Reserved http://www.allmusic.com/album/pearl-river-mw0000827794

A rollicking slice of greasy New Orleans funk, gritty electric blues, soul, and good old fashioned rock 'n' roll with beautiful and unique melodies. This album is HR by A.O.O.F.C. If there was any justice in the music business, the name, Mike Zito would be part of the higher echelon of rock and blues guitarists. Don’t let this great music pass you by. Listen to Mike’s “Greyhound” album. For more great Americana, listen to the incredibly underrated James McMurtry’s exceptional “Where'd You Hide the Body” album [All tracks @ 320 Kbps: File size = 142 Mb]


1 Dirty Blonde - Mike Zito 3:36
2 Pearl River - Cyril Neville / Mike Zito 4:53
3 Big Mouth - Mike Zito 4:08
4 Change My Ways - Mike Zito 5:14
5 Eyesight to the Blind - Sonny Boy Williamson II 3:21
6 One Step at a Time - Anders Osborne 3:37
7 39 Days - Mike Zito 4:07
8 Shoes Blues - Mike Zito 3:23
9 The Dead of Night - Mike Zito 4:05
10 Sugar Sweet - Mel London 3:29
11 Natural Born Lover - Mike Zito 5:29
12 All Last Night - Little George Smith 5:26
13 C'mon Baby - Mike Zito 4:56


Mike Zito - Guitar, Toy Piano, Vocals
Anders Osborne - Acoustic Guitar, Vocals
Lonnie "Popcorn" Trevino Jr. - Bass, Background Vocals
Reese Wynans - Keyboards
Eric Bolivar - Drums, Percussion
Jumpin' Johnny Sansone - Accordion
Randy Chortkoff, Lynwood Slim - Harmonica
Susan Cowsill, Cyril Neville - Vocals

1 comment:

A.O.O.F.C said...


P/W is aoofc