Get this crazy baby off my head!


Screaming Headless Torsos

Screaming Headless Torsos - 1995 - 2002 - Fuzelicious Morsels

Part jazz/funk/rock orgy, part political tirade, this 1995 debut by Screaming Headless Torsos is not for the easy listening fan. Strongly allied with the Black Rock Coalition, the Torsos at times sound like an angrier and infinitely funkier Living Color. Vocalist Dean sings, raps, and emits heavy metal screams while David Fiuczynski lets loose with his signature guitar pyrotechnics. The rhythm, absolutely monstrous, is laid down by bassist Fima Ephron, drummer Jojo Mayer, and percussionist Daniel Sadownick. This is no mere wall of sound, however. The music is thick with harmonic and rhythmic detail, the stuff of stellar musicianship. The group's lyrics are rancorous, subversive, and at times racially provocative, with buckets of vitriol directed against sellouts and jazz-funk phonies, the analog to those hip-hop arch-villains, "sucker MCs": "Tell a story of the honky dory/Living in the past/Kicks off his shoes, destroys the blues/Let's splice his ass." They also take aim at mainstream American entertainment in general: "We celebrate mediocrity and worship crap/This country went to camp and never came back." Declaring war on corrupted aesthetic values, the group answers with defiant pronouncements: "I won't be a fool in your school of misinformation"; "I won't sublet or pretend to beget/a shackled down music that's nothing but hype." In "Graffiti Cemetery," the Torsos decry the disappearance of New York subway graffiti as a loss for oppositional culture. Going beyond local concerns, the band laments war in the Balkans with "Wedding in Sarajevo." They also pay Miles Davis a double tribute with "Blue in Green" (hit the dirt, jazz purists) and the theme from A Tribute to Jack Johnson. Along with outfits like Lost Tribe, the Torsos are creating a new kind of uncompromising fusion that Miles would likely have smiled upon. © David R. Adler © 2011 Rovi Corporation. All Rights Reserved http://www.allmusic.com/album/screaming-headless-torsos-r254703/review [Based on 1995 CD issue]

This is a 2002 reissue of the original CD by guitar hero David "Fuze" Fiuczynski's Screaming Headless Torsos quintet. Along with two previously unissued tracks (Jimi Hendrix's "Little Wing" and George Harrison's "Something), this outing provides an early glimpse of one of the most powerful jazz-rock units to emerge in quite some time. On the other hand, perhaps the brand of music heard here could be akin to shock therapy treatment. Vocalist Dean Bowman adds a lot of character to this quintet as he raps, croons, and scats atop an assortment of high-octane pieces, consisting of funk motifs, jazzy progressions, and tricky time signatures. Dynamics abound, partly due to the rhythm section's razor-sharp precision and seemingly impossible technical gymnastics. Fiuczynski leads the charge via his often slithery attack, marked by screeching crescendos, blazing single-note leads, and swiftly executed chord voicings. However, the group lowers the generally excitable proceedings down a notch or two during their soul-blues rendition of "Little Wing." The band's slightly in-your-face demeanor provides the knockout punch, yet it's not all about aimless or frenzied chops fests. On this release, the musicians rise to the occasion amid 14 solid tracks that cover quite a bit of terrain. Recommended. © Glenn Astarita © 2011 Rovi Corporation. All Rights Reserved http://www.allmusic.com/album/1995-r573964/review

Originally released as "Screaming Headless Torsos" in 1995 on the Discovery Records label. The musicianship on this album is amazing, and almost futuristic in it's approach. Tremendous stuff, and VHR by A.O.O.F.C. The album was reissued in 2001, entitled "1995" with the extra tracks, "Little Wing" and "Something". Listen to the band's "Live in NYC" album [All tracks @ 320 Kbps: File size = 127 Mb]


1 Vinnie - Fiuczynski
2 Free Man - Ephron
3 Cult of the Internal Sun - Fiuczynski
4 Little Wing - Jimi Hendrix
5 Word to Herb - Bowman, Mayer
6 Blue in Green - Miles Davis, Bill Evans
7 Chernobyl Firebirds - Fiuczynski
8 Graffiti Cemetery - Fiuczynski
9 Smile in a Wave (Theme from Jack Johnson) - Miles Davis
10 Wedding in Sarajevo - Bowman, Mayer
11 Hope - Fiuczynski
12 Kermes Macabre - Fiuczynski
13 Another Sucka - Ephron
14 Something - George Harrison


David Fiuczynski - Guitar
Fima Ephron - Bass
Daniel Sadownick - Percussion
Jojo Mayer - Drums
Dean Bowman - Vocals, Rap Vocals


Screaming Headless Torsos or SHT are an experimental jazz/funk band formed in 1989 consisting of guitarist David Fiuczynski, vocalist Dean Bowman, bassist Fima Ephron and percussionist Daniel Sasownick. The band's original drummer was Jojo Mayer, but he was replaced by Gene Lake for their 2001 album Live!!. Screaming Headless Torsos have also featured many famous New York musicians during their live performances. Their current (touring) line-up includes Freedom Bremner (vocals), David Ginyard (bass) and Louis Cato (drums). One of their notable concerts was an opening slot for the band moe. as part of their marathon 12/31/1995 show at Wetlands Preserve in New York City. In 2005, Screaming Headless Torsos released a live DVD entitled Live!! in New York & Paris containing two concerts at the Knitting Factory in New York City and at the club New Morning in Paris. Official website of David "Fuze" Fiuczynski @ http://www.torsos.com/