Get this crazy baby off my head!


Karl Morgan

Karl Morgan - Talkin' with the Hands - 2007 - Pied Piper Records

Karl Morgan is an Australian blues/soul guitarist, singer and songwriter, based in Austin, Texas. Although he cites Eric Clapton as his main influence his style is also influenced by artists like Stevie Ray Vaughan, Jimi Hendrix, and many other blues and soul artists, including Stevie Wonder, BB King, Albert King, Freddie King, Aretha Franklin, The Allman Brothers Band, Bonnie Raitt, Taj Mahal, and Al Green. Karl released "Talkin' With the Hands' in 2007 and released his second album , 'Burning Heart' in October of 2011. Karl and his band constantly gig in and around Austin, including several shows during SXSW 2012.

Karl Morgan will be accused of sounding like Eric Clapton and SRV, but he also has his own unique guitar style. There are two many reviews accusing artists of aping guitarists like Rory Gallagher, SRV, Eric Clapton, and God knows who else. Who influenced EC or SRV? There is a difference between copying these artists note for note and being influenced by an artist. That's the evolution of the blues, and Karl Morgan is definitely no "rip-off merchant". He is a great vocalist with distinctive phrasing. He writes original songs with good lyrics, and his skilful and intelligent playing is in the "less is more" style. No songs on this album are used as a base for any histrionic guitar solos. Karl is not a "showy" player and although his guitar is the driving force throughout the album, he is never overbearing. Karl's tone and balance is exceptional. His music contains folk, rock, Chicago style blues rock, soul blues, and plenty of funk, but fundamentally he plays good old fashioned electric guitar with flair and originality, a quality lacking in many of today's so called guitarists. The album is HR by A.O.O.F.C. Buy Karl's "Burning Heart" album and support real music [All tracks @ 320 Kbps: File size = 108 Mb]


1 Your Good Man 3:58
2 Natural Condition 4:43
3 Nothing from Nothing Grows 4:43
4 Hold Me Where I Lay 3:52
5 Sunny 3:53
6 Sweetness 2:24
7 Cult of the Self 5:02
8 Mother's Child 3:04
9 The Lowdown 3:21
10 Talkin' with the Hands 4:16
11 Love in Your Space 4:49
12 Break Your Mind 5:01

All songs composed by Karl Morgan except "Sunny" by Bobby Hebb


Karl Morgan - Guitar, Vocals
Greg Royal - Bass, Upright Bass
Graham Local - Bass
Clayton Doley - Hammond Organ, Piano, Wurlitzer
Joe Whittle, Warren Jackson - Drums
Andrew Bickers - Saxophone, Horn Arrangements
Anthony Kable - Trombone
Stewart Kirwan - Trumpet


Blues, Southern Rock Karl Morgan is a blues guitarist, singer and songwriter whose explosion onto the blues scene, heralds the return of powerful, soulful, guitar-driven blues and rock & roll not heard since the great blues guitarists of the 1960s and 70s. Karl was a young West Australian boy when Stevie Ray Vaughan died in 1990, signaling the end of an era of devastating guitar artistry which began with the likes of Albert, Freddie and BB King and informed a generation of players from Jimmy Page to the Band; from Eric Clapton to SRV; from the Rolling Stones to Jimi Hendrix. Since the death of Stevie, great blues guitarists have been few and far between on the world stage. Karl Morgan is here to show us that the Blues - the great progenitor of modern music - has an enduring power to inspire and drive contemporary music with soul, with tone, and above all with feel. Since discovering the awesome power of the Blues in his teenage years, Karl has striven to emulate the greats of the art, and has paid his dues in bars and clubs on the West Coast with bandmates Joe Whittle on drums and Graham Local on bass. The three piece journeyed to Sydney's 301 Studios in January of '04 to record 7 tracks, and finished the job at Sydney's Origami and Electric Avenue studios, adding 5 more tracks to complete Karl's debut album, 'Talkin' With the Hands'. ARIA Award-winning engineer Anton Hagop presided over both sessions, and renowned Sydney session players contributed to the ensemble, including bassist Greg Royal and Hammond virtuoso Clayton Doley. Nashville record label, Pied Piper Records, has signed Karl and US touring for his debut album is planned shortly to follow shows in Australia. 1 Your Good Man 2 Natural Condition 3 Nothing From Nothing Grows 4 Hold Me Where I Lay 5 Sunny 6 Sweetness 7 Cult of the Self 8 Mother's Child 9 The Lowdown 10 Talkin' With the Hands 11 Love in Your Space 12 Break Your Mind - from Editorial Review © 1996-2012, Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates http://www.amazon.com/Talkin-Hands-Karl-Morgan/dp/B000SJ2E9S/ref=sr_1_fkmr0_1?s=music&ie=UTF8&qid=1335222251&sr=1-1-fkmr0

1 comment:

A.O.O.F.C said...


p/w if needed is aoofc