Get this crazy baby off my head!


Alison Moyet

Alison Moyet - Singles/Live (Bonus CD 2) - 1996 - Columbia

Between 1984 and 1987, Alison Moyet toured the world, won two BRIT Awards, and performed at Live Aid in 1985. Her next album, Raindancing (1987), earned the singer a third BRIT Award and brought her to the U.S. for the first time as a solo per¬former. Hoodoo (1991) and Essex (1994) found Alison taking her music in an earth¬ier, less pop-friendly direction. But "It Won't Be Long,” a track from Hoodoo, received a Grammy Award nomination in the category of Best Female Rock Performance. Due to prolonged litigation with Sony Music, Alison did not record or release a new studio album for over eight years following the release of Essex. But her 1995 hits collection Singles entered the UK chart at Number One, paving the way for a sold-out British tour that included three nights at the Royal Albert Hall. Over the next few years, Alison’s unmistakeable voice appeared on recordings by Tricky, Ocean Colour Scene, The Lightning Seeds, and King Britt; she also starred on the UK leg of the Lilith Fair tour. Towards the end of 2001 Alison made her stage debut in the West End hit musical Chicago playing the role of Matron Mama Morton. London’s Evening Standard declared that the singer’s performance “stole the show…the packed auditorium saluted Ms. Moyet with a deafening cacophony.” In August 2002, Alison released her first studio album in eight years, Hometime, which catapulted her into the Top Five of best-selling female UK artists. Her next album, Voice, entered the UK chart at No. 7 when released in September 2004 and quickly achieved gold sales status. “Today, I make music as the day suggests,” declared Alison Moyet in that Guardian essay. “My day, the one I wake up to. I will write about things that move me. I will sing like it matters, because it can matter. I will be the product of my 46 imperfect years…I want to be able to laugh with abandonment at the folly of it all.” [This biography was provided by the artist or their representative] - from http://www.amazon.com/Alison-Moyet/e/B000AQ31TQ/ref=ac_dpt_sa_bio/185-7108426-3257912

Alison is still one of Britain's great soul blues singers. She is also a very underrated songwriter. These tracks were recorded on tour at the Royal Albert Hall, London and The Royal Concert Hall, Glasgow. This album was released with no overdubs, and was originally released as part of a 2 x CD set. Listen to Alison's wonderful soul blues "Hoodoo" album


1 Getting Into Something (Live) - Alison Moyet & Pete Glenister
2 Chain Of Fools (Live) - Don Covay
3 Love Letters (Live) - Edward Heyman & Victor Young
4 All Cried Out (Live) - Alison Moyet, Philip Springer, Tony Swain, Steve Jolley
5 Dorothy (Live) - Alison Moyet & Pete Glenister
6 Falling (Live) - Alison Moyet & Pete Glenister
7 Ode To Boy (Live) - Alison Moyet
8 Is This Love? (Live) - Alison Moyet & Jean Guiot
9 Nobody's Diary (Live) - Alison Moyet
10 Whispering Your Name (Live) - Jules Shear
11 There Are Worse Things I Could Do (Live) - Jim Jacobs & Warren Casey


Alison Moyet - Vocals, Harmonica
Pete Glenister - Guitar, Backing Vocals
Phil Spalding - Bass, Backing Vocals
James Hallawell - Hammond Organ, Keyboards, Backing Vocals
Tony Kiley - Drums, Percussion


Alison Moyet, a British pop singer with a remarkably bluesy voice, began her professional career with synth pop duo Yazoo (Yaz in the U.S.) in the early '80s. In 1983, Moyet began a solo career, releasing her debut album, Alf, the following year. Alf was a major success in Britain, hitting number one on the charts and launching the hit singles "Invisible," "All Cried Out," and "Love Resurrection"; it was a minor hit in the U.S., with "Invisible" cracking the Top 40. During 1985, Moyet toured with a jazz band led by John Altman; the group recorded a version of Billie Holiday's "That Ole Devil Called Love," which became her biggest British hit, even though the group received poor reviews. In 1986, Moyet had another major U.K. hit with "Is This Love?," which was released while she was recording her second solo album. Raindancing appeared in 1987 and it was another big British hit, peaking at number two and featuring the Top Ten hits "Weak in the Presence of Beauty" and "Love Letters." The record wasn't quite as successful in the U.S., peaking at number 94. In 1991, she released her third album, Hoodoo, which was her most musically ambitious collection to date. However, it didn't match the commercial success of her previous albums, failing to chart in America. Essex, her fourth album, appeared in 1994 and she released a greatest-hits collection, Singles, the following year. After a near-nine-year layoff, she returned with Hometime produced by the production team the Insects. Two years later and filled with standards, Voice arrived. In 2005, the album was reissued in America with her version of "Alfie" as a bonus track. After signing with the W14 Music label in late 2006, Moyet released The Turn in October 2007. © Stephen Thomas Erlewine © 2011 Rovi Corporation. All Rights Reserved http://www.allmusic.com/artist/alison-moyet-p108005/biography