Get this crazy baby off my head!


John McVey

John McVey - Gone To Texas - 2002 - Doc Blues

'One of the toughest guitar players to come out of Texas in years !'- Real Blues Magazine, 2004

Blues is always playing at my home. So when family members ask, 'who is this?' and 'when are we going to see this band?' it strongly indicates that the artist stands out amongst the crowd. Such was the case for John McVey. He hails from Little Rock, Arkansas where he cut his teeth alongside Larry Davis and Fenton Robinson. The move to Austin, Texas in 1986 allowed him to further hone his craft. His debut album was produced by Derek O'Brien. It features John on guitar/vocals, Larry Fulcher on bass, Barry "Frosty" Smith on drums/percussion and Mike Buck on drums. How appropriate to begin with a Texas shuffle called "Mexican Blackbird". Thanks to the button accordion of Joel Guzman, this is not your typical Lone State scuffle. John and his Strat get grooving on this track causing the listener to say, 'this is going to be one well greased disc.' "I Don't Stutter" is a boogie-ing blues that you can dance to. Here the harp of fellow Texan Kim Wilson is exceptional while the thick organ of Riley Osbourn adds further lubrication to the mix. If you want to experience wah-wah heaven, throw on "House On Fire". This track will incite you to turn up the volume and that is where it will stay for the duration of this 65-minute disc. McVey's guitar wails wickedly yet remains melodic. He combines his limited vocals with Erin James and Eve Monsees for sweet harmonization. The pedal effects continue on "Shadows In My Room". This song exudes evidence of the artists who influenced John the most. The title track is a slow blues masterpiece. On it, John plays/sings with so much feeling some listeners will have their bags packed to join him in the southwest before the song even concludes! If this is how you play the blues after going to Texas, it explains why the state is the nation's 2nd largest! No, this is not another Vaughan-a-be. In fact, John proudly proclaims, 'no SRV licks were tested or injured during the making of this album.' John McVey's debut release on newcomer label, Doc Blues Records, contains 12 riveting tracks and McVey penned nine of them. His vocals don't attain the same standards as his guitaring still he manages to create a new breed of Texas blues and boogie rock. Upon hearing this promising CD, you will surely state, 'John, you may have gone to Texas but please come to my town and lay your blues on me. © Tim Holek © Southwest Blues CD Review - July 2002 © http://www.southwestblues.com/reviews/2002/cd-07-02mcvey.htm

"In early 200l I started praying fervently to have a new CD on my turntable that would satisfy my insatiable Blues listening lust. Thanks to John Mcvey and 'Los Gone Ones,' my prayers have been answered." - Wes Race Blues Spectator At Large

This is what modern Texas blues should sound like! John McVey is a great guitarist and he's also got a feel for the real blues which is lacking on many contemporary recordings. "Gone To Texas" is great mix of soul, swamp, and boogie flavoured Texas blues with some great funky grooves. John is not a great vocalist, but either is Leonard Cohen, Shane McGowan, Bob Dylan, Tom Waits...and so on. What he lacks in vocal quality is made up by his guitar skills, and his great backing musicians. [ All tracks @ 320 Kbps: File size = 148 Mb ]. Buy John's live "Road House Stomp" album and promote real music. N.B: Not to be confused with John McVey, the NJ born folk rock singer/songwriter who recorded the "Jigsaw" album


1. (I Gotta) Mexican Blackbird
2. I Don't Stutter
3. House On Fire
4. Cruisin' For a Bruisin' *
5. Gone To Texas
6. Sweet Little Upsetter
7. Shadows In My Room
8. Whuppit **
9. Baby One More Kiss
10. Call My Job ***
11. Don't Throw Your Love On Me So Strong ****
12. My Baby's Tired of Working

All songs by John McVey except * John McVey, Danny White, Basia: ** Trad: *** Detroit Junior & Al Perkins: **** Albert King


John McVey - Guitar, Vocals
Derek O'Brien - Rhythm Guitar
Larry Fulcher - Bass
Riley Osbourne - Keyboards
Mike Buck - Drums
Barry "Frosty" Smith - Drums, Percussion
Joel Jose Guzman - Button Accordion, Vocals
Kim Wilson - Harmonica
Eve Monsees, Erin James - Background Vocals, Vocal Harmony


In an age when imitation has become inevitable, the musical holy grail for a musician is to discover a unique sound. John McVey was brought up by Larry Davis and Albert King, both of whom pushed him to find his own tone. He did just that. When you heard the guitar drifting through the streets of downtown Austin at night, you instantly knew it was John McVey. Dubbed by world-renowned musicologist Wes Race and guitarist Derek O'Brien, as 'the missing 4th West Side guitarist,' John's fiery playing does indeed evoke the Chicago sounds of Otis Rush, Buddy Guy and Magic Sam, combined with an aggressive Texas attack. With no effects pedals, his 'singing guitar' emotes heart-rending bends and smooth runs as well as bold chording that has led many, including the legendary 'Uncle' John Turner, to call McVey 'the best rhythm guitar player around.' Whether McVey is playing a Strat or a Tele, a Fender or a Marshall amp, young guns are always scrutinizing his rig and settings to try to decipher just how he achieves his signature tone. 'In a gun battle, it ain't the fastest draw that wins but the man with nerves of steel and a steady hand,' states Johns. 'A good pair of of bifocals doesn't hurt at this point, either', he ads wryly. A veteran of touring bands on the Chittlin' Circuit, John's even been shot at in places such as Foster's Blue Room in Kansas City and the Owls Club in North Little Rock. 'Back when I first started out with Larry Davis, we'd play places that were real blood-and-bucket joints. You just had to play like you were gonna fight somebody (yeah, you just hoped it wasn't your own band-members!)' For the next several years, John worked with a number of harmonica-based blues bands, traveling extensively with Hook Herrera & the Hitchhikers and then with Paul Orta & the Kingpins. In the early 1990's, two weeks after the coup against Gorbachev, John found himself onstage in Nickel, Russia at the legendary Harmonica Rumble sponsored by blues entrepreneur Eddie Stout. After a very profitable Miller Genuine Draft Light television spot and a tour of Italy, John was invited to join the Lavelle White Band as guitarist and band leader. With Lavelle, he played the major festival circuit for several years, on shows with Luther Allison, John Lee Hooker and more. In 1999, after 20 plus years, McVey decided to get off the Road and reform the Stumble. In 2002 John signed with Doc Blues Records (Austin, TX.) and released his debut album 'Gone To Texas' produced by Derek O'Brien and featuring Kim Wilson, Joel Guzman, Larry Fulcher, Frosty and Mike Buck. John McVey and the stumble then recorded Erin Jaime's' debut album 'You Had to Go' released in 2004. John then briefly returned to the road traveling throughout Texas with overseas tours of Belize, Israel, Italy and Switzerland. In 2006 John relocated to Houston, TX. and recorded his live CD 'Road House Stomp' at Dan Electros in the Heights which was released by Houston based D.A. Records in 2008/09. John currently performs in the greater Houston/Galveston area with his band, Marie English on keyboards, Harry Dolphin on bass, and Jimmy 'Houston' Pate on drums. © http://www.johnmcveyandthestumble.com/index.php?page=bio