Get this crazy baby off my head!


Chris Cain

Chris Cain - Unscheduled Flight - 1997 - Blue Rock'It Records

"Unscheduled Flight" is an album that renews your faith in the blues. Chris Cain is a terrific vocalist, guitarist and songwriter. Not many artists can lay claim to having these three qualities. Fourteen tracks on the album are Cain originals. Chris has been highly praised by blues giants like BB king, Albert King, and Robben Ford. Dan Forte of CD Universe remarked that "Chris is 100% the real deal and is one of those who keep the blues idiom alive and well". Living Blues says "Guitarist Chris Cain has some stories to tell on his Unscheduled Flight, and each song is a masterful combination of vocal and instrumental elements. Most of Cain's tales deal with agony of being born under a bad sign.... Cain describes the situations with poetic empathy.... Cain's lyrics avoid trite emotions and situations; in "Do You Call That a Buddy," a slow blues about a friend who repays the singer's generosity by stealing his woman, Cain focuses on the disintegration of the male friendship rather than the tired-and-true themes of love triangles or wrong-doing women.... He can also play lyrical lines, as emphasized in the funky "Bad Situation," while other songs find him bending notes or making them squeal.... Unscheduled Flight proves that Chris Cain can do it all--write, arrange, play, and sing--with all the sincerity and power that the blues demands". "Unscheduled Flight" is HR by A.O.O.F.C. Buy Chris' "Cain Does King" album and support great blues rock. Check out his great "Late Night City Blues" on this blog. Support real music and artists like Chris Cain who do not always get the recognition they deserve for their talent and artistry [All tracks @ 320 Kbps: File size = 132 Mb]


1 Drinking Straight Tequila 2:51
2 Helping Hand 2:37
3 Good Old Days 3:08
4 Do You Call That A Buddy 5:30
5 Blues For Curtis J 2:40
6 Good News 3:59
7 Change My Luck 5:05
8 I Still Want To Believe 3:45
9 Living On A Fault Line 3:26
10 Something's Got To Give 4:13
11 Bad Situation 4:08
12 The Day Your Good Luck Goes Away 4:12
13 You Give Me The Strength 4:02
14 Three Nights Without My Baby 4:58
15 Unscheduled Flight 2:31

All songs composed by Chris Cain except "Do You Call That A Buddy" by Wesley Wilson & Don Raye


Chris Cain - Guitar, Vocals, Piano
Garth Webber - Guitar
Ron Johnson, Myron Dove, Dewayne Pate - Bass
Tony "Macaroni" Lufrano, John R. Burr, David Matthew - Keyboards
Randy Hayes, Ron E. Beck, Patrick Ford, Gabriel Ford - Drums


Chris Cain's jazz-tinged, blues soaked guitar and deep, warm vocals have the maturity and authenticity of bluesmen many years his senior. His expressive style is the result of a lifetime of study and the relentless pursuit of music mastery. His passion and intensity are a blend of his mother's Greek ancestry and his father's soulful black heritage. Cain was raised on stories of his father's childhood upbringing on Memphis' Historic Beale Street and attended his first B.B King concert at the tender age of three. Blues music played continuously on the home stereo and family outings were often trips to concerts. Cain recalls, "I remember when I was a kid, my Dad would be mowing the lawn with the stereo blasting Muddy Waters. When I look back, that was pretty cool! There was always music playing at our house, Ray Charles, B.B. King, Freddie King, Albert King, all the greats." At the age of eight, Cain taught himself to play guitar and began playing professionally before he was eighteen. Chris studied music at San Jose City College, and was soon teaching jazz improvisation on campus. Over the next twenty years, Cain would also master piano, bass guitar, clarinet, alto and tenor saxophone. The combination of his blues upbringing and his jazz studies melded to form the searing guitar style that sets Chris Cain apart and has moved him to the top ranks of the blues music scene. Cain's debut recording, Late Night City Blues (Blue Rock'it Records-1987) garnered four W.C. Handy Blues Award nominations, including Guitarist of the Year." Dan Forte of Guitar Player wrote, "An impressive debut album by a top notch guitarist." Cain's next two releases; "Cuttin Loose" (Blind Pig Records-1990) and "Can't Buy a Break" (Blind Pig Records-1992) collected a long list of awards and accolades. In August of 1995 Blind Pig released "Somewhere Along the Way" his 4th compilation of his unique brand of original music sophisticated blues, funk, jazz and gospel. In 2003 Patrick Ford produced Chris's latest CD, "Hall Of Shame" (Blue Rock'it Records-2003). "...this is now the sixth Chris Cain solo release I have produced, not to mention his work with me on projects like the Ford Blues Bands' "In Memory Of Michael Bloomfield" CD, and I continue to be in awe of his incredible talent. As a guitarist/singer, Chris has been praised by mentors like Albert King and peers like Robben Ford." Larry Nager (syndicated Scripts-Howard music critic) writes, "Nowadays most young blues players are Strat-wielding Stevie Ray Vaughan-a-bes. Not Chris Cain. With a voice that recalls B.B. King and a thick toned Gibson guitar sound reminiscent of Albert King, Cain is forging a unique style. With his own highly personalized songwriting, "Hall Of Shame" is a giant step in the development of one of the most compelling young bluesmen on today's scene." Through his guitar mastery and remarkable songwriting ability, Chris Cain has established himself as a musical force to be reckoned with. And as San Jose Mercury News music reviewer John Orr writes, "more than anyone else, anywhere, Chris Cain represents the future of the blues." © http://www.chriscainmusic.com/Cain_history.html

1 comment:

A.O.O.F.C said...

Click album cover on main blog.

Password is aoofc