Get this crazy baby off my head!


David T. Chastain

David T. Chastain - Next Planet Please - 1994Leviathan

David T. Chastain (born in Atlanta, Georgia on 31 August 1963) is an American guitarist and owner of Leviathan Records and Diginet Music. Chastain is a metal guitarist who emerged in the mid-'80s along with a wave of other neo-classical guitarists. He has released about 50 recordings under multiple names, including David T. Chastain, CJSS, Georgia Blues Dawgs, The Cincinnati Improvisational Group, SPIKE, Zanister, Ruud Cooty and Southern Gentlemen (blues-rock) as well as a number of heavy metal releases under the band name Chastain, accompanied by female vocalist Leather Leone. In more recent years, David has worked as a record producer at his own company, Leviathan Records. His label specializes in discovering and promoting new talents, specializing in guitarists and bands. He also runs Diginet Music, a company specializing in rare, unreleased or out-of-print music. - Wiki

"A feisty metal-fusion affair laced with complex instrumentals and stylistic nods to such jazz rock greats as Holdsworth and Di Meola." - Guitar Shop

DAVID T. CHASTAIN, considered by many as one of the most prolific and versatile of today's Hard Rock/Metal guitarists, journeys into uncharted heavens with his Progressive Rock/Hard Fusion instrumental CD NEXT PLANET PLEASE. The album combines the ferocity and force of rock with the cultivation and extravagance of jazz as never before for a truly unique, new sound. "This is the type of CD I have always dreamed of making," says the guitarist. "This has always been my favorite style of music. To me progressive rock and fusion lend themselves to two very important aspects of music: melody and improvisation!" For this recording CHASTAIN recruited long time collaborator DAVID HARBOUR, who once again proves he is one of the most original bassists around today. Joining in on drums, and giving a brilliant performance, is fellow Cincinnati Improvisational Group member MIKE HAID. Of the album's title CHASTAIN says: "Since this new CD is a definite departure from my previous releases, I decided that the title should express that event. As music has the capacity to take you out of the world in which you live and transport you somewhere else, I felt NEXT PLANET PLEASE was a fitting way to describe the journey I take on this album. Using a Roland GR-1 Guitar Synth allowed me to create many textures that had not been available in my previous recordings." The musical context is not easy to describe, but can best be compared to early Holdsworth, Di Meola, Return To Forever and Dixie Dregs influences, combined with CHASTAIN's own unique musical vision. Serving as a bridge from previous recordings, the CD opens with "Project Transformation". The title track is one of CHASTAIN's personal favorites "because it brings to the forefront everything special about this type of music." The majestic "Forever Searching" has to be one of the most melodic tracks in memory, while "Sophisticated Debauchery" is a great example of progressive rock in full swing. The haunting "Homage To An Unknown Hero" is an extraordinary track for the emotional character of the song, and "Watching Time Go By" closes the CD with a very hypnotizing ending track that will make you want to play it again and again. The CD was recorded at Kajem Studios in Philadelphia with CHASTAIN producing and Joe Alexander engineering. CHASTAIN says of the recording quality: "I'm extremely satisfied with the end result. It was a pleasure to be involved with the recording of this CD." NEXT PLANET PLEASE is the next phase in the expanding musical imagination of guitar visionary DAVID T. CHASTAIN!! © http://www.leviathanrecords.com/nextdes.htm

The all instrumental “Next Planet Please” combines progressive heavy metal with jazz fusion. Dave uses a Roland guitar synth to create keyboard textures that retain the unique Chastain sound. Guitar World says that, "As a player, Chastain ranks with Steve Morse, Eric Johnson, Joe Satriani and Steve Vai." Dave was one of the first artists signed to Mike Varney's Shrapnel label (which specialized in technically accomplished rock, metal, and fusion guitarists), releasing Chastain shredder classics like ”Mystery of Illusion” and “Ruler of the Wasteland”. David should be better known as a guitar virtuoso, but he is just one of many great musicians who never get the recognition they deserve. Whether you like hard rock, fusion, metal, or just fantastic guitar playing, you may enjoy this album. Check out Dave’s “Mystery of Illusion” album and look for more Chastain info on this blog [All tracks @ 320 Kbps: File size = 150 Mb]


1. Project Transformation 6:07
2. Next Planet Please 5:34
3. Realization 4:53
4. Fusion Delusion 5:01
5. Forever Searching 5:34
6. Sophisticated Debauchery 5:39
7. Dunk The Funk 4:09
8. Blame It On Rio 4:19
9. Homage To An Unknown Hero 4:17
10. Watching Time Go By 6:20

All tracks composed by David T. Chastain


David T. Chastain - Electric & Acoustic Guitars, Roland GR-1
David Harbour - Electric & Fretless Bass
Mike Haid - Drums


Although guitarists such as Steve Vai, Joe Satriani, and Yngwie Malmsteen received the lion's share of publicity and commercial success during the heyday of "guitar shredders" back in the '80s, David T. Chastain has been slugging it out for just as long, yet never achieved the same level of recognition as the aforementioned instrumentalists. With his mastery of the six-string and talent for effortlessly reeling off lightning-fast neo-classical licks, Chastain has been releasing albums since the mid-'80s, either as a solo artist or as part of the bands Chastain and CJSS. David Chastain was one of the first artists signed to Mike Varney's Shrapnel label (which specialized in technically accomplished rock guitarists), resulting in such shredder classics as Mystery of Illusion and Ruler of the Wasteland. Countdown to Infinity was released on Leviathan in 2007. © Greg Prato © 2013 AllMusic, a division of All Media Network, LLC. | All Rights Reserved http://www.allmusic.com/artist/david-t-chastain-mn0000224951/biography

1 comment:

A.O.O.F.C said...


P/W is aoofc