Get this crazy baby off my head!



Static - Patterns - 2001 - Guitar Nine

Patterns is the instrumental debut release from New York's Static, a project band consisting of guitarist Mike Fortin and drummer David Penna. Assisted by Rob Epstein on keyboards and bass and Fabrice Francese on bass, the duo whip through eight heavy tracks which feature full-throttle shred with progressive and fusion leanings. Fortin is capable of absolute guitaristic mayhem, as every technique essential to over-the-top playing can be found in his arsenal. Songs such as "Mespotamia" and "Ghost Companion" document Fortin's abilites, which are formidable, to say the least. Fortin also has a compositional knack for incorporating unexpected heavy rhythm breaks into his tunes, which are always welcome in rock instrumental works. Mastering both rhythm and lead playing doesn't leave room for much future improvement, however it just means that Fortin can focus on expanding compositionally. What a nice position to be in. Highly recommended. Guitarist Mike Fortin started playing guitar on his 15th birthday, studying with local instructors in Daytona Beach, Florida. He spent countless hours practicing in his bedroom, inspired by bands such as Iron Maiden and AC/DC as well as the whole Shrapnel scene. In college, Mike started a couple of original bands but found it an exercise in frustration. He later moved to New York and hooked up with the progressive band Strange Embrace, gigging and recording for four years. Mike then took a short hiatus to record some instrumental tunes under the name of Sonic Texture. He also was able to take a few lessons with Greg Howe, through the help of Prashant Aswani. Fortin and Penna have teamed with Jon Modell (Spooge) in a heavy type of project, and are currently writing tunes and looking for a singer. (Read more @ http://www.guitar9.com/undiscov33a.html) © 1996-2013 Guitar Nine All Rights Reserved http://www.guitar9.com/undiscov33a.html

Patterns is the self released debut album, produced and performed by guitarist Mike Fortin and drummer David Penna, collectively under the name of Static. They are aided and abetted here with contributions from both Rob Epstein (keyboards & bass) and Fabrice Francese (bass). The album is an instrumental offering within the areas of progressive metal, guitar fusion and sees Mike Fortin utilising his full armoury of guitar shredding techniques over the imaginative drumming of David Penna. Grinding metallic rhythms are employed extensively throughout the album, however a keen sense of melody and dynamic structuring prevails, giving the tracks the necessary "hooks" required to hold the listeners attention. A listen through the opening track Ghost Companion should either confirm or dispel whether this album (and therefore this review) will be one for you. Mike Fortin proves to be an excellent player, not all "million mile an hour" shredding and sweeping, but tastefully executed legato sections, interesting rhythmic riffs and chordal patterns go to make up tracks on Patterns. A new name to me and the only info I have on him is that he is currently based in New York and prior to this release gigged and recorded with Strange Embrace, following which he then recorded under the name of Sonic Texture. David Penna on the other hand is slightly more known to me as he featured on the Rewired - A Tribute To Jeff Beck album from 2003, guesting with Fabrice Francese on Steve Booke's contributions. The following year he appeared again, this time on the totally insane but extremely enjoyable Ink Compatible from Ron Jarzombek. At that time I made note of the contribution David made to Words For Nerds - rhythmically possibly the trickiest piece on that album. And much credit must be afforded to David Penna who raises the ante here on Patterns. In the somewhat saturated market of guitar instrumentals albums, his drumming is both solid and imaginative - lifting the music and giving the album greater variation, whilst still providing a solid backbone to the tracks. No better illustrated than on the albums standout track Shade - light and shade from the guitars, gliding fretless bass, nice touches from the keyboards and David nicely punctuating this ebbing and flowing piece. But along with this track are other notable pieces, the aforementioned Ghost Companion, the Frippy opening to Crimson (or am I just making an association), which veers off into a more metallic territory, never to return; then of course there's Uptown - driving rhythms, harmonised guitar but with the keyboards adding a nice jazzy feel. I could go on, however should you have not skipped on with my descriptive - "progressive metal, guitar fusion" - and remained with this review, then I can assure you that Patterns has much to offer. Do yourself a favour and check out the soundfiles on David's site and also at Guitar Nine: Conclusion: 7 out of 10 © BOB MULVEY © 1995 - 2014 : Dutch Progressive Rock Page http://www.dprp.net/reviews/200602.php

A compelling mix of jazz, fusion, metal and funk, that gives this album a unique edge on the cornerstone of instrumental music. Not a shredfest but a well above average progressive metal fusion guitar album [All tracks @ 320 Kbps: File size = 98.5 Mb]


1 Ghost Companion - David Penna 3:37
2 52 Pickup - David Penna 4:21
3 Crimson - David Penna, Mike Fortin 6:27
4 Uptown - Mike Fortin 4:01
5 Mesopotamia - David Penna, Mike Fortin 6:43
6 Chicken Fingers - Mike Fortin 4:52
7 Test Flight Pattern - David Penna 6:20
8 Shade - Mike Fortin 6:23


Guitar – David Penna (tracks: 2, 5), Mike Fortin
Bass – David Penna (tracks: 2), Fabrice Francese (tracks: 5, 6), Mike Fortin (tracks: 1, 3, 7), Rob Epstein (tracks: 4, 8)
Keyboards – Rob Epstein
Drums – David Penna

1 comment:

A.O.O.F.C said...


P/W is aoofc