Get this crazy baby off my head!


Mark Ford & Garth Webber

Mark Ford & Garth Webber - On the Edge - 1994 - Blue Rock'it Records

Garth Webber, known as Garth "Take no Prisoners" Webber, is a brilliant guitarist, but still remains in relative obscurity. A large part of his career was spent in the San Francisco Bay area, and his talents were eventually noticed by a few prominent musicians. In 1988 he recorded and toured with the Ford Blues Band, and from there his career kicked off. You may have listened to recordings by Boz Scaggs, Gregg Allman, Miles Davis, John Lee Hooker, and Mose Allison just to name a few, and been unaware that some of the incredible guitar work you heard was by this guy. Speaking of Miles Davis, Garth Webber has gone on tour to South America and Europe with Davis. This alone is a great testament to Garths talent. He is a terrific blues guitarist with an amazing technique. He is one of the most versatile guitarists in the business, and can play anything that blues, jazz, and rock can throw at him, and more, and still remains unknown by far too many people. This crack session musician is continually in demand by some of the world's finest jazz and rock artists. The youngest of the three Ford brothers, Mark Ford's voice is very similar to Robben's, slightly deeper, but less soulful. When it comes to harp playing, he's in a league of his own. "On the Edge" contains some good laid back modern soul jazz blues with a good shot of funk. Guitar from Garth is superb but there could be more. Mark supplys some stupendous catchy harp licks. Myron Dove plays some great bass. Mark penned seven of the album's tracks with Garth composing four. There is also a cover of Sarah Baker's "Grace". Buy Garth's amazing 1994 album, "On the Edge," which demonstrates his guitar wizadry far better than this album, and check out Mark Ford & The Blue Line's s/t album. Keep the blues alive [All tracks @ 320 Kbps: File size = 137 Mb]


1. It's A Feeling 3:18
2. Lookin' For You 4:21
3. Passionate Armenian 5:50
4. Talk To Me 4:59
5. Low Moon 9:17
6. Hot And Cold Eh 4:27
7. Black Hearted Woman 5:03
8. Let It Go 4:11
9. Grace 5:43
10. I've Got My Feet On The Ground 3:30
11. Treat Me Like A Man 5:12
12. Pink Time (This One's for Mom) 4:20

Tracks 1,3,4,6,8,11,12 composed by Mark Ford: Tracks 2,5,7,10 composed by Garth Webber: Track 9 composed by Sarah Baker


Garth Webber - Guitar: Vocals on Tracks 2,5,7,10
Myron Dove - Bass
Frank Martin - Keyboards: Organ on Track 4
Tony "Macaroni" Lufrano - Organ
John Mader - Drums
Mark Ford - Harmonica, Harp: Vocals on Tracks 1,4,6,8,11


A.O.O.F.C said...


Garry.L said...

Thanks for the Ford-Webber post. I'm a big fan of Robben Ford & know of his brothers music. Don't know much about Garth Webber. Thanks for the info on him.


A.O.O.F.C said...

Hi,Garry. Robben is one of the greats, but it's worth checking out Garth Webber's less commercial stuff. He's an ace guitarist and v.much underappreciated. Thanls, & TTU soon...P