Get this crazy baby off my head!



Storyville - A Piece Of Your Soul - 1996 - Atlantic

Storyville was a blues-rock band formed in 1994 in Austin, Texas, USA. Drummer Chris Layton and bassist Tommy Shannon, former members of Arc Angels and the rhythm section for Stevie Ray Vaughan's band Double Trouble, formed the band with Malford Milligan after a jam session at Antone's. After releasing an album on November Records in 1994, the band won a total of nine Austin Music awards; they became stalwarts on the local music scene and toured nationally. They subsequently signed to major label Atlantic Records, for whom they recorded two albums before breaking up. The single "Born Without You", from their 1998 release Dog Years, reached #28 on the Billboard Mainstream Rock chart

Storyville's second album, Piece of Your Soul, is a gritty Texas blues record, but it's delivered with enough rock & roll savvy to crossover into the mainstream. That's not to say that the group has watered-down the greasy roadhouse R&B that is their stock and trade -- they simply inject it with a shot of feverish rock & roll energy, and that's what makes Piece of Your Soul a successful follow-up to the award-winning debut, The Bluest Eyes. © Thom Owens © 2013 Rovi Corp | All Rights Reserved http://www.allmusic.com/album/piece-of-your-soul-mw0000184626

A dynamic and classy album of soul, blues, and rock from the Austin based Storyville. The songs are well written with brilliant grooves and tones throughout. Malford Milligan is a terrific vocalist in the same vein as Paul Rodgers and Paul Carrack, but all the musicians on this album including guitarists David Grissom, David L. Holt, and drummer Chris Layton and bassist Tommy Shannon, ex- Arc Angels and SRV’s Double Trouble really know their stuff. “A Piece Of Your Soul” is HR by A.O.O.F.C. It’s a pity this line-up recorded so few albums. Try and listen to the band’s “Bluest Eyes” album and Dave Holt’s great “Perpetual Motion” album [All tracks @ 320 Kbps: File size = 121 Mb]


1 Bitter Rain - David Grissom / Malford Milligan 5:54
2 Good Day for the Blues - David Grissom 3:59
3 Blind Side - David Grissom / David Holt / Chris Layton / Malford Milligan / Tommy Shannon 3:48
4 Don't Make Me Cry - Craig Ross 5:34
5 What Passes for Love - David Grissom 6:07
6 Solid Ground - David Holt / Malford Milligan 5:14
7 A Piece of Your Soul - David Grissom / David Holt / Chris Layton / Malford Milligan / Tommy Shannon 3:53
8 Cynical - David Holt / Malford Milligan 4:05
9 Luck Runs Out - Doyle Bramhall / David Grissom / David Holt / Malford Milligan 4:34
10 Can't Go There Anymore - David Grissom / David Holt / Chris Layton / Malford Milligan / Tommy Shannon 4:43
11 Share That Smile - David Grissom 5:47


David Grissom, David L. Holt - Guitar, Background Vocals
Tommy Shannon - Bass
Reese Wynans - Hammond Organ
Chris Layton - Drums, Percussion
Malford Milligan - Vocals
Bertram Brown, Felecia Hayes - Background Vocals


Veterans from dozens of jam sessions and all-star backing bands, the members of Storyville gelled at just such a jam, in 1994 at the Austin club known as Antone's. Bassist Tommy Shannon and drummer Chris Layton had played in Stevie Ray Vaughan's Double Trouble for ten years before the bluesman's death in 1990, and both moved on to the Arc Angels before meeting the other members of Storyville. Lead guitarist David Holt played on the Mavericks' debut album, and appeared with another lead guitarist David Grissom in Joe Ely's backing band. Grissom would also gain experience touring with John Mellencamp and the Allman Brothers. The only member of the band with less than ten sideman credits, vocalist Malford Milligan, sang with the Austin band Stick People before the formation of Storyville -- named, of course, in honor of New Orleans' historic red-light district. After several sessions to work out their bluesy soul/R&B, Storyville hopped into the recording studio and produced an album for November Records. Released the same year of the band's foundation, The Bluest Eyes won the band six awards at the 1995 Austin Music Awards, including Best Band and Best Single. The LP was rated highly in mainstream publications, and earned Storyville a major-label contract, with the Atlantic subsidiary Code Blue. Though the band released no new material during 1995, three more trophies at that year's Austin Music Awards were forthcoming. Second album A Piece of Your Soul was released in 1996, followed in 1998 by Dog Years. © John Bush © 2013 Rovi Corp | All Rights Reserved http://www.allmusic.com/artist/storyville-mn0000632257

Check out David Grissom @ http://www.davidgrissom.com/bio/

There is more about David L. Holt @ http://www.davidholtmusic.com/bio.html


A.O.O.F.C said...


Password is aoofc

Anonymous said...

This album is good for me
Thanks my friend Paul


A.O.O.F.C said...

Hi,Daniel. I think it's an excellent album. Their other two albums are also very good. Thanks, my friend and TTU soon...Paul