Get this crazy baby off my head!


Chaz Jankel

Chaz Jankel - The Submarine Has Surfaced - 2010 - Cj Records

Blockheads veteran Chaz Jankel’s “The Submarine Has Surfaced” features a number of contributors from "the UK dance underground" such as Natalia Scott (of Rogue Nouveau), Steven Tart, soul singer Alex Watson and the current Blockheads vocalist Derek Hussey. The album returns to Chaz’s club roots, and has a dominantly jazz-influenced, house feel. Chaz contributes vocals on three tracks. Chaz was responsible for much of the jazzy funk influences in the Blockheads music. He co - wrote many of the best songs in Ian Dury and the Blockheads' catalogue. Songs like “Sex and Drugs and Rock and Roll”, “Hit me with your Rhythm stick” and “Clever Trevor” are great songs known to music fans worldwide. As a solo artist, Chaz recorded several albums for A&M. including, Chasanova and Questionnaire which contained the U.S. dance hit, "Glad to Know You". Chaz also penned the Quincy Jones' international hit "Ai no Corrida", and contributed "Do you Mind" to Robbie Williams' latest album "Reality Killed the Video Star". Chaz also wrote the score for The motion picture, "Sex and drugs and Rock and Roll" which was nominated for a BAFTA. It didn’t win. Speaking about the album, Chaz said, "Over the last couple of years I've been writing and sketching out ideas in my studio in Muswell Hill, North London. Although many ideas occur and are recorded, very few are what I would describe as "special", but the 10 songs on this album I think are all unique. On this CD I collaborate with 4 other singer/writers. On " I Come Alive' I worked with Natalia Scott (aka MC Tali..a big name in the drum and bass world.) We met at a Chris Difford songwriting retreat and this was one of our first compositions. On "Hey now" I'm doing the vocals and Derek Hussey co -wrote the lyrics. "The Farside" and "Check the Meaning" are sung by Steven Tart, a very gifted young singer whose star is on the ascendant.. "A Restless Path", "Wise up Baby" and "I Long for You" are all sung by Alex Watson, another great interpreter of lyric and melody. We met when I was signed to Famous Music. That leaves "Tear it up" sung/spoken/wrapped by Derek Hussey who now sings lead vocals with the Blockheads. Oh yeah, the last tune on the album, "The Way it’s Going Down" was co-written with Derek Hussey and I'm doing the singing. Just a simple acoustic song (but with a fancy guitar tuning) to cleanse the palette...the same way slices of orange taste perfect after a spicy Chinese meal....eh voila........dinner is served........."THE SUBMARINE HAS SURFACED"......thanks for listening”. “The Submarine Has Surfaced” is a good album with some terrific hook filled tunes from the great Chaz Jankel, keyboard player, guitarist, and composer with Ian Dury & the Blockheads. The album has many musical elements including house, dance, jazz funk, and soul with great urban and Latin grooves throughout. Chaz gives vague details about the composers of each song. Has anybody got a definitive list of musicians and composers? [All tracks @ 320 Kbps: File size = 105 Mb]


1 Wherever We Go
2 I Come Alive
3 Hey Now
4 The Farside
5 A Restless Path
6 Tear It Up
7 Wise Up Baby
8 Check The Meaning
9 I Long For You
10 The Way It’s Going Down


Chaz Jankel - Guitars, Keyboards, Drum Programming: Vocals on Tracks 1, 3, 10
Lewis Jankel – Synth Bass: Bass on Track 2
Natalia Scott - Vocals on Track 2
Derek Hussey - Vocals on Tracks 3, 6
Steven Tart - Vocals on Tracks 4, 8
Alex Watson - Vocals on Tracks 5, 7, 9
John Turnbull - Backing Vocals on Tracks 6
Mark Fletcher - Drums on Track 7
Ed Rieband - Trombone on Track 8
Rupert Cobb - Trumpet on Track 8
Hetty Snell - Cello on Track 9


A.O.O.F.C said...


P/W is aoofc

Certifiablockhead said...

plain magnificent...Chaz found great interpreters and collaborators...and with superb arrangements, Chaz's the man...Happy Holidays Paul!!

A.O.O.F.C said...

Cheers,Certifiablockhead! A really underrated guy. Ian was a genius, but Chaz held the rhythm stick! TVM & TTU later...Paul