Get this crazy baby off my head!


Lance Lopez

Lance Lopez - Wall Of Soul - 2004 - Grooveyard

"The career of the Stratocaster gunslinger continued to solidify, and while working on his latest release Wall Of Soul, he bonded with fellow guitarist Eric Gales and King's X vocalist Doug Pinnick. All three have an affinity to Hendrix, their music fusion providing a solid stage for Lopez to exhibithis power trio skills and guitar pyrotechnics. Those pyrotechnics are displayed in his hard and heavy take of "Spanish Castle Magic" - "you know what i'm talking about..."Wall Of Soul is a solid outing for Lopez. We hope to hear more from him in the future". © Ken Voss (Voodoo Child fanzine - issue 67) (spring - 2004)

If you like guitar driven blues with a spicy dash of classic rock than you'll love 'WALL OF SOUL', the sizzling debut release by guitarist Lance Lopez on Grooveyard Records. Lance Lopez's playing is excellent! Not only can he play a mean guitar he is also blessed with a voice that is filled with passion and fiery emotion. I was completely impressed by this stunning recording. Opening with the rip-roaring "Love/Hate Relationship" and not letting up for the next 60 minutes or so, the sheer verve and passion that Lance Lopez exhibits will leave your mouth wide open and your ears ringing for days! On smoldering tracks like, "Looks So Good", the guitar driven, "Didja" and "Cardboard Sign" Lance Lopez proves that he can shred with the best of them. If you ask me, this guy is in a league all his own. Lance Lopez also serves up two sizzling covers, "Shame The Devil", a song penned by Robin Trower and "Spanish Castle Magic", the Jimi Hendrix classic. 'Wall Of Soul' also features two special guests, the one and only Eric Gales on "I Don't Want No More", "Quarter, Nickel or A Dime" and tour de force epic, "Time". Then you have from King's X, Doug Pinnick who lends his soulful vocals on "Time". Special kudos go to drummer John Garvin and bassist Daniel Williams for their rock solid backing throughout, which push every song to the limit. Lance Lopez's 'Wall Of Soul' is an mind-blowing release that I would not hesitate in recommending . Anyone who likes Jimi Hendrix, Stevie Ray Vaughan and Eric Gales and other similar bands/artists will definitely enjoy this CD. Get your hands on, 'Wall Of Sound', you WON'T be disappointed. Lance Lopez is the "REAL DEAL"! Jimi would be proud! © All Access Magazine

Great funky blues rock with a touch of Soul from the great Louisiana guitarist Lance Lopez. This guy is forever being compared with Jimi Hendrix and SRV and the comparisons are boring. Every major guitar player is strongly influenced by various other guitarists. Listen to Lance Lopez. He’s very impressive. He plays with fire and passion and is not in the music business for the money alone. As blues rock guitarists go, Lance is up there with the best of them. He is also an underrated guitarist. Listen to his “Simplify Your Vision” album on this blog [All tracks @ 320 Kbps: File size = 155 Mb]


1 Love/Hate Relationship 5:47
2 Looks So Good 4:48
3 Didja 3:02
4 Cardboard Sign 3:43
5 Alone in Love 4:06
6 I Don't Want No More 4:52
7 Shame the Devil 4:27
8 What Goes Around Comes Around 4:51
9 Quarter, Nickel or a Dime 5:40
10 Idle Time 5:44
11 Spanish Castle Magic 3:58
12 Time 11:10

All tracks composed by Lance Lopez except Tracks 6, 9 by Lance Lopez & Eric Gales, Track 7 by Robin Trower, and Track 11 by Jimi Hendrix


Lance Lopez – Guitar, Vocals
Eric Gales – Guitar on Tracks 6, 9, 12: Vocals on Tracks 9, 12
Daniel Williams – Bass
John Garvin – Drums
Doug Pinnick – Lead Vocals on Track 12


Born in Shreveport, Louisiana, Lance Lopez relocated to Dallas,Texas when he was 12 years old, then to New Orleans, Louisiana 2 years later. He has been a professional musician since the age of 14 when he began playing local bars in and around the New Orleans, Louisiana area. During his High School career in New Orleans, and later in southwest Florida, Lance played in a variety of bands that played clubs at least 3 nights a week. At 17, Lance and his family moved back to Dallas, Tx. Returning to Texas Lance was immediately hired by Soul Legend JOHNNIE TAYLOR. Lance toured with JOHNNIE TAYLOR for 6 months performing with artist such as BOBBY BLUE BLAND, JOHNNY GUITAR WATSON, LITTLE MILTON, MARVIN SEASE, and BOBBY RUSH, LUCKY PETERSON . At 18 Lance was hired by modern blues great . Lance toured with LUCKY PETERSON for 3 years performing with artist such as BOOTSY COLLINS, LARRY GRAHAM, LITTLE RICHARD, JIMMIE VAUGHAN, JUNIOUR WELLS, and LUTHER ALLISON. At age 21 Lance Lopez held the position of band leader with LUCKY PETERSON when he left to play guitar briefly with the BUDDY MILES EXPRESS. In 1998, Lance recorded his independent debut CD entitled “FIRST THINGS FIRST” which was Produced by Buddy Miles as well as Jay Newland. It found great response in Europe where Lance had already made a name for himself touring with LUCKY PETERSON. In December 2000 Lance toured Europe for the first time with his own Band. In August of 1999 Lance won theSoutheastern Regional JIMI HENDRIX Electric Guitar competition in New Orleans sponsored by EXPERIENCE HENDRIX . In 2001 Lance Lopez toured Europe extensively, opening for STEVE VAI and JEFF BECK. Also in 2001, Lance also opened for B.B. King In Texas and won Blues Band of the Year Award at the Dallas Music Awards. From 2003 to 2005 Lance spent recording a catalog of Disc for the Indie Guitar label GROOVEYARD RECORDS based in Upstate New York. His first release on GROOVEYARD entitled “WALL OF SOUL” was RECORDED IN 2003. It was co-produced by and featured long-time friend and guitarist ERIC GALES. Also featured on the disc was a special appearance by DOUG PINNICK of the band KING’S X. After the release of “WALL OF SOUL” Lance performed regionally around Texas opening shows for LOS LONELY BOYS in Austin and JOE BONAMASSA in Lubbock. In 2005 Lance along with TOMMY SHANNON and BUDDY MILES formed BAND OF TROUBLE. They performed concerts with RICK DERRINGER, JOE BONAMASSA, & KENNY WAYNE SHEPHERD also that year Lance recorded “SIMPLIFY YOUR VISION” considered one of his best works to date. After the release of “SIMPLIFY YOUR VISION” in 2006, Lance produced “Forest of the Pine “ by young Texas Guitar Slinger WES JEANS. 2006 was spent mainly touring regionally in the Southern U.S. opening shows for B.B. KING, CHRIS DUARTE, GALACTIC, as well as headlining some festivals. In 2007 Lance recorded his 4th studio release “HIGHER GROUND” playing all the instruments On his 2008 Summer Tour of Europe Lance was the support act on concerts with legendary performers ZZ TOP, WHITESNAKE, DEF LEPPARD, TEN YEARS AFTER and JIMMY CLIFF as well as headlining many well known Blues Festivals. Lance will continue to tour and perform live as much as possible, as well as relentlessly working on new material and producing other artist... © http://unionjackproduction.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=54&Itemid=61

1 comment: