Get this crazy baby off my head!


Phil Turcio

Phil Turcio - Signals - 2008 - Phil Turcio

Phil was the resident pianist with the In Melbourne Tonight Band on Channel 9 and Hey Hey It's Saturday. He toured nationally with The Main Event, featuring Olivia Newton John, John Farnham and Anthony Warlow. He also composed a song for The Sydney 2000 Olympics Closing Ceremony. At the age of seven Phil started learning piano with his father John. At sixteen he decided to pursue a career in music and he attended Box Hill College of Music, studying piano with teachers Greg Dixon and Thomas Spivak. The following year he travelled to Naples, Italy, where he undertook specialist classes with classical pianist Antonio Maione. On his return to Australia Phil continued his studies at Melbourne University, with jazz pianist Tony Gould. Since then he has worked in many different fields in the music industry as a Pianist, Composer, Producer, Musical Director and Teacher of classical and jazz piano. Throughout his career Phil has worked with Australia's most accomplished musicians and has accompanied many Australian and International artists. He has worked for Television Channels 7, 9 and 10, and in the recording field has played for many performers, as well as being Producer and Musical Director for numerous events. In 1997/98 Phil was the resident pianist with the In Melbourne Tonight Band on Channel 9. In 1998 he toured nationally with The Main Event, featuring Olivia Newton John, John Farnham and Anthony Warlow. In 1999 he released the album entitled Serious Young Insects with renowned drummer Virgil Donati and his band 'On The Virg', which included many of his compositions. Also that year, Phil Joined the Hey Hey it's Saturday Band for its final season. In the year 2000, the song 'We'll Be One' which he composed with his wife Kylieann, was chosen as the final song for the Sydney 2000 Olympics Closing Ceremony. He has also composed music for various TV series such as Huey's Cooking Adventures on network 10. Recently Phil has released the album State of the Heart with Lisa Edwards, which he also arranged and produced for ABC records. Phil was also the resident keyboard player for The Big Night In in 2005 on network 10. He is currently involved in producing two original recording projects : the first one with US bass player, Ric Fierabracci (Chick Corea Electric Band), and US drummer Joel Rosenblatt (Bill Evans Band/Spyro Gyra) with their band Hemispheres. The other is his first solo album featuring US drumming great Will Kennedy (Yellowjackets/Johnathon Butler), and US sax player Gary Meek (Dave Weckl Band), which is to be released in 2006. Also listen out for Guy Sebastian's new single 'Taller, Stronger, Better', written by Guy Sebastian, Phil Turcio and Gary Pinto, Produced by Phil Turcio. © Rapture Band http://www.raptureband.com.au/bio/phil-turcio

“Signals” is Adelaide born keyboardist Phil Turcio’s (Hemispheres, On The Virg) debut album and features many stellar fusion musicians including bassists Ric Fierabracci and Craig Newman, drummer Dave Weckl, and guitarist Simon Patterson. Phil's versality as a musician keeps him in constant demand. His list of credits include K.D. lang, Dave Weckl, Ric Fierabracci, Virgil Donati, Tom Brechtlein, Will Kennedy, George Garzone, Gary Meek and numerous others. Phil and his band 'Hemispheres' were nominated for a Grammy in 2008 for 'Best New Contemporary Jazz Group'. “Signals” will be classified as “smooth” jazz by some and jazz fusion by others. However, this is not bland jazz. A little on the light side, maybe, but terrific musicianship and well above average compositional skill make the album a worthwhile inclusion on this blog. If you like artists like Chick Corea, and Greg Phillinganes you may like this album by an exciting, and brilliant keyboard player. Check out Ric Fierabracci, Phil Turcio and Joel Rosenblatt’s great “Hemispheres” album [All tracks @ 320 Kbps: File size = 103 Mb]


1. Beyond Control 5:08
2. Lost 5:38
3. Miracles 6:02
4. Signals 7:42
5. Am I Awake 5:13
6. Solitude 5:22
7. Mystical Mojo 7:18

All tracks composed by Phil Turcio


Simon Patterson – Guitar
Craig Newman – Bass on Tracks 2,4
Ric Fierabracci – Bass on Tracks 6,7
Phil Turcio – Piano, Keyboards
Will Kennedy – Drums
Dave Weckl – Drums on Track 5
Gary Meek – Soprano Sax

1 comment:

A.O.O.F.C said...


P/W is aoofc