Get this crazy baby off my head!


Sue Foley

Sue Foley - Without A Warning - 1993 - Antone's Records

After a pleasant debut, an Austin-based Canadian comes up an original. Blues in form, she's girl-group in spirit--"Cry for Me" steps as lightly as the Magic Sam covers, and the Earl Hooker tribute has the weight of a charming novelty. Just don't trifle with her--not unless you can name another blueswoman who'd lead three instrumentals on a single album, or call her a liar when she goes out on "Put Your Money Where Your Mouth Is" and "Annie's Drifting Heart." Which latter provides at least two Inspirational Warnings: "I got a woman's body but a little girl's mind," and "Good luck follows me all around." A- © Robert Christgau http://www.robertchristgau.com/get_artist.php?name=Sue+Foley

Great Texas blues guitar style album from the Ottawa born blueswoman, Sue Foley. There are 13 great tracks with 8 Sue Foley originals. Mainly, it’s just Sue on lead and rhythm guitar, along with bass and guitar on most of the tracks. Piano is added to a few tracks. The album encompasses many styles. Melvin London’s “Cry For Me” is a great Chicago style blues cover. Jerry Wes & Leslie Johnson’s “Sad Sad City” is full of real Texas grit. Magic Sam’s “Give Me Time” is a terrific pop-blues-soul cover, and Sue’s own “Put Your Money Where Your Mouth Is” a driving shuffle boogie number. If you like your blues in the “Austin-Dallas school of blues” style, you may like this album. The only criticism is that seven of the 13 tracks are under three minutes long. “Without A Warning” clocks in at 1:49. Nevertheless, the album is HR by A.O.O.F.C. Buy Sue’s “Big City Blues” album and support great roots and blues rock [All tracks @ 320 Kbps: File size = 86.3 Mb]


1. Come Into My Arms 3:23
2. Ruby Duby Du 2:52
3. Open Up Your Eyes 2:29
4. Give Me Time 3:10
5. Hooker Thing 2:28
6. Sad Sad City 3:16
7. Truckin' Little Woman 2:12
8. Sue's Boogaloo 2:49
9. Cry For Me 3:11
10. Live Together 3:52
11. Without A Warning 1:49
12. Put Your Money Where Your Mouth Is 3:10
13. Annie's Driftin' Heart 2:17

Tracks 3,5,7,8,10,11,12,13 composed by Sue Foley: Tracks 1,4 by Magic Sam: Track 2 by Charles Wolcott & Sunny Skylar: Track 6 by Jerry Wes & Leslie Johnson: Track 9 by Melvin London


Sue Foley - Guitar, Rhythm Guitar, Vocals
Jon Penner - Bass
Gene Taylor - Piano
Riley Osbourn - Organ
Fredd E "Pharaoh" Walden - Drums
Angela Strehli - Vocals


This highly touted vocalist/guitarist originally hails from Ottawa, Canada, although her home base shifted to Austin, TX, when she signed with Antone's Records and cut her debut set, Young Girl Blues, in 1992 (an encore, Without a Warning, quickly followed). Foley's wicked lead guitar makes her a rarity among blueswomen. When she was a child in Ottawa, Foley listened to rock & roll and blues-rock groups like the Rolling Stones. Although these bands sowed the seeds of her affection for the blues, her love for the music didn't blossom until she witnessed James Cotton in concert when she was 15 years old. Cotton inspired Foley to pick up the electric guitar. During her late teens and early twenties, she jammed with local Ottawa bar bands. She didn't form her own group until she moved to Vancouver in the mid-'80s. Foley sent a demo tape of herself to Antone's Records in 1990. Impressed, the label arranged an audition for the guitarist. Sue moved to Austin and soon signed a recording contract with Antone's. In 1992, her debut album, Young Girl Blues, was released. It was acclaimed by a number of blues publications. Two years later she released her second album, Without a Warning. It was followed by Big City Blues in 1995. Subsequent efforts include 1996's A Walk in the Sun, 1998's Ten Days in November, and 2000's Love Comin' Down and Back to the Blues. Where the Action Is appeared in 2002 on Shanachie Records. Foley then switched to Ruf Records for her next two albums, 2004's Change and 2006's New Used Car. In 2007 Foley released Time Bomb, a collaborative effort with fellow Ruf labelmates Deborah Coleman and Roxanne Potvin. © Bill Dahl © 2013 Rovi Corp | All Rights Reserved http://www.allmusic.com/artist/sue-foley-mn0000924440/biography

1 comment: