Get this crazy baby off my head!


Elkie Brooks

Elkie Brooks - 'Round Midnight - 1993 - Castle

A fabulous collection of jazz/soul blues from the incomparable Elkie Brooks, one of Britain's greatest and most enduring jazz blues singers. This album has sixteen classic tracks composed by legends like Ray Charles, Billie Holiday, Arthur Hamilton, Thelonius Monk, Johnny Mercer, James Van Heusen, and many more. All the songs are interpreted beautifully by this great lady. Check this blog for more Elkie Brooks, and Vinegar Joe releases. "'Round Midnight" is VHR by A.O.O.F.C


01. ALL NIGHT LONG (Curtis Lewis)
02. WHAT KIND OF MAN ARE YOU (Ray Charles)
03. SINCE I FELL FOR YOU (Buddy Johnson)
04. CRY ME A RIVER (Arthur Hamilton)
05. DON'T EXPLAIN (Arthur Herzog Jr/Billie Holiday)
06. JUST FOR A THRILL (Lil Hardin Armstrong/Don Raye)
07. 'ROUND MIDNIGHT (Thelonius Monk/Cootie Williams/Bernie Hanighen)
08. HARD TIMES (Don Robey/Big Mama Thornton)
09. BLACK COFFEE (Paul Francis Webster/Sonny Burke)
10. TRAVELLIN' LIGHT (James Mundy/James Osborne Young/Johnny Mercer)
11. DRINKING AGAIN (Johnny Mercer/Doris Tauber)
12. HERE'S THAT RAINY DAY (James Van Heusen/Johnny Burke)
13. SAVE YOUR LOVE FOR ME (Buddy Johnson)
14. DON'T SMOKE IN BED (Willard Robinson)
15. CRAZY HE CALLS ME (Carl Sigman/Bob Russell)
16. SPRING CAN REALLY HANG YOU UP THE MOST (Tommy Wolf/Fran Landesman/Nelson Algren)

N.B: Originally released in 1993 as an eight track album with the track sequence 7, 4, 6, 10, 5, 12, 1, 2.


Elkie Brooks - Vocals
Les Martin - Rhythm Guitar
Phil Mulford - Double Bass
Andrew Murray - Keyboards
Mike Richardson - Drums
Duncan Lamont - Wind Instruments/Sax
Martin J. Lewison -Trumpet
Mike Patto - Vocal Backing on Tracks 2, 4, 12


British pop-jazz-blues crooner Elkie Brooks (born Elaine Bookbinder) dominated U.K. radio in the late '70s with a series of hit singles that established her as "the biggest-selling female album artist in the history of the British pop charts." The Manchester native, who grew up in an extremely musical family, left school at the age of 15 to join a dance band in London. She eventually mad the jump to radio, as well as numerous appearances with legendary jazz bandleader Humphrey Lyttelton, before embarking on a career in pop music. The early '60s saw the budding young singer releasing singles for Decca and EMI, as well as opening for everyone from Carl Perkins to the Beatles, but commercial success remained elusive. She joined the blues-rock band Dada in 1970, which would eventually find success through a name change (Vinegar Joe) and the arrival of a new vocalist, Robert Palmer. The popular group released three beloved records before disbanding in 1974, and after a brief stint with U.S. Southern rock band Wet Willie, Brooks decided to take another crack at a solo career. The resulting Rich Man's Woman, Two Days Away, Shooting Star, Live & Learn, Pearls, and Pearls II, as well as frequent sold-out tours and numerous silver, gold, and platinum recordings, would go on to cement her reputation well into the 21st century. © James Christopher Monger, All Music Guide


Elkie Brooks (born Elaine Bookbinder, 25 February 1945 in Broughton, Salford) is an English singer, formerly a vocalist with Vinegar Joe, and later a solo artist. She is known for her husky voice. Brooks was born to Jewish parents in Salford, England and grew up in Prestwich. She attended North Salford Secondary Modern School. A professional singer since she was fifteen, Brooks' debut, a cover of Etta James's "Something's Got A Hold On Me", was released on Decca in 1964. She spent most of the 1960s on Britain's jazz scene.It was on the jazz scene she met Humphrey Lyttelton the two remained friends till Lyttelton's death in 2008. Impressed by Steve Marriott's vocal and stage performances, she helped the mod band Small Faces with their early career by introducing them at several venues. In the early 1960s Brooks supported The Beatles in their Christmas show in London. She also toured the U.S with The Animals, among other acts and also supported Jimi Hendrix.After she met husband Pete Gage, she joined the short-lived fusioneers Dada before forming Vinegar Joe with Gage and Robert Palmer. After three albums, they split up in 1974, and Brooks and Palmer both went solo. After a time as backing singer with the American southern boogie band Wet Willie, she returned to England. Her first solo album on A&M records Rich Man's Woman (1975) came before a run of sixteen UK hit albums in twenty-five years, starting with Two Days Away, produced by the legendary duo Leiber & Stoller, who had also worked with Elvis Presley and many others (1977). Brooks wrote some tracks with Leiber and Stoller. The hits "Pearl's a Singer", "Sunshine After the Rain" came from this album. "Lilac Wine", Don't Cry Out Loud, came later. The albums Shooting Star (1978), Live and Learn (1979), Pearls (at the time, the largest selling album by a British female artist) (1981), "Fool (If You Think It's Over)" was a hit for Brooks taken from this album. Written by Chris Rea. Pearls II (1982), Minutes (1984) and Screen Gems the first album to be produced on CD in the UK (1984) were all UK chart successes. In 1986 No More the Fool gave her biggest hit single to date while the parent album reached the top 5. Following chart success ensued with the albums The Very Best of (1986), Bookbinders Kid On Bookbinders Kid, she covered "What's The Matter Baby" previously recorded by Timi Yuro. Yuro got in touch with Brooks to compliment her. (1988), Inspiration (1981), Round Midnight (1993), Nothin' But the Blues (1994), Amazing (1996) and The Very Best of (1997). In 1980 Brooks performed at the Knebworth festival with The Beach Boys, Santana and Mike Oldfield. Brooks' success has earned her recognition by the Guinness Book of Records as the most charted British female album artist of the last 30 years. Pearls stayed in the charts for 79 weeks and was still there when Pearls II charted a year later. In March 2003 she participated in the ITV music talent show Reborn in the USA, alongside musicians such as Peter Cox (Go West Singer), Tony Hadley and Leee John. The Electric Lady album (2005) saw a return to her blues and rock roots, featuring self-penned tracks alongside re-workings of numbers by The Doors, Bob Dylan, Paul Rodgers and Tony Joe White. The following year saw the release of her first official DVD, titled Elkie Brooks & Friends: Pearls featuring an array of guest musicians. Brooks is currently working on her 20th studio album. A popular live attraction, Brooks has toured almost every year during her solo career. Her 1982 UK concert tour was seen by more than 140,000 people in just three months.She has performed at every major UK theatre including sell out runs at the London Palladium, Dominion Theatre, Hammersmith Apollo, Ronnie Scott's, Royal Albert Hall and Wembley Arena.