Get this crazy baby off my head!


Liquid Tension Experiment

Liquid Tension Experiment - Live 2008 - Limited Edition Boxset (LTE Bonus Disc 1 CD) - 2009 - Ytsejam Records

Liquid Tension Experiment is an instrumental supergroup formed by Mike Portnoy at a request from Magna Carta records. It consists of four members: Mike Portnoy, John Petrucci, Jordan Rudess, and Tony Levin. Three of these members have been members of Dream Theater, although when he joined Liquid Tension Experiment, Jordan Rudess had not yet joined Dream Theater, and Mike Portnoy left Dream Theater during 2010. Liquid Tension Experiment has released two albums, Liquid Tension Experiment and Liquid Tension Experiment 2. They have also released two albums as Liquid Trio Experiment, Spontaneous Combustion and When the Keyboard Breaks: Live in Chicago. Spontaneous Combustion was the result of jam sessions by the other three members of the band while Petrucci was with his wife, who was giving birth. When the Keyboard Breaks: Live in Chicago is a live recording of a concert in Chicago when Rudess' keyboard malfunctioned, and the other members of the band jammed while Rudess was on the phone with Roland. Additional Liquid Tension Experiment live recordings are available through Portnoy's Ytsejam label and website, www.ytsejamrecords.com. - http://dreamtheater.wikia.com/wiki/Liquid_Tension_Experiment_(band)

Liquid Tension Experiment's music could be described as the meeting of jazz fusion, heavy metal, latin music, funk, progressive rock and enormous doses of improvisation delivered by some of the best musicians the worlds of progressive rock, progressive metal and jazz have to offer. This bonus disc is part of a DVD/CD Limited Edition Boxset by LTE. The disc includes seven fantastic improvised jams from four of the greatest musicians in the jazz fusion business taken from various gigs played in June 2008 in Bethlehem, PA, NYC, Chicago, IL, and San Francisco, CA. Read more details on this album @ http://ytsejamrecords.com/productcart/pc/viewPrd.asp?idproduct=32 These guys are masters of their respective instruments, and if you like sporadic, improvised progressive jazz rock/fusion of the highest calibre, then this album may appeal to you. Listen to LTE's "Liquid Tension Experiment 2" album [All tracks @ 320 Kbps: File size = 130.6 Mb]


1. NYC (Early Show) Improv Jam #1 (6:54)
2. NYC (Early Show) Improv Jam #2 (7:41)
3. NEARfest Improv Jam #1 (3:42)
4. NEARfest Improv Jam #2 (5:43)
5. Chicago Improv Jam #1 (7:58)
6. San Francisco Improv Jam #1 (10:41)
7. San Francisco Improv Jam #2 (13:17)

All tracks composed by Levin, Portnoy, Petrucci, Rudess


John Petrucci - Guitar
Tony Levin - Bass, Bass [Chapman Stick]
Jordan Rudess - Keyboards
Mike Portnoy - Drums

1 comment: