Get this crazy baby off my head!


Michael Lee Firkins

Michael Lee Firkins- Cactus Crüz - 1996 - Shrapnel Records

Born in Omaha, Nebraska in 1967, Michael Lee Firkins was born into a musical family with a father who played pedal steel guitar and a mother who played the piano. Firkins also listened to classic rock such as Led Zeppelin, AC/DC and Lynyrd Skynyrd and widened his listening spectrum to include the great country pickers as he grew older. When Firkins finished his professional demo in the late 80’s and sent it to Shrapnel label owner Mike Varney, Varney who was blown away with Firkin’s fresh approach to instrumental music and immediately signed him to the guitar centric label. The name Michael Lee Firkins is synonymous with modern musical virtuosity. Whether performing as an instrumental artist or fronting his own band as a singer/ guitarist, Michael Lee Firkins continues to prove that he truly is one of rocks
most amazing and versatile musicians. Firkins is an amazing player whose style combines elements of country, blues and jazz influences resulting in a stylized sound © 2014 Shrapnel Records Group. All Rights Reserved.http://shrapnelrecords.com/artist/michael-lee-firkins

“Cactus Crüz is a record for everyone loving Blues, Fusion, and guitar virtuoso music. The writing is always focused on the song and on expressiveness, not on boasting hyperspeed solo etudes. Actually this recording deserves 4 1/2 stars. There are two less interesting tracks on it and the quality of the artwork is beyond any discussion at least in my opinion. CC could have been produced with more care. Sometimes you can hear the click in the fadeout and the mix is very crude yet transparent so that every detail of the guitar, the bass and the drums is covered. By & © Matthias Döring on September 13, 2001 © 1996-2014, Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates http://www.amazon.com/Cactus-Cruz-Michael-Lee-Firkins/dp/B00000108M

“Here again, Firkins is a first class player with a very unique and tasty style. He has a slide technique that is bar none and a finger picking style that could really rank up there with Atkins. I have thoroughly enjoyd this release, as well as all the others. Firkins choice of compositions is always fresh and new. His playing style is not full of flash, yet his abilities speak volumes as to his abilities. He can rip, tear, weep and funk with the best of them. I enjoy his changes in tempos and rather upbeat melodies. Firkins is as accomplished as Satriani or Vai or Eric Johnson, yet retains his own style without sounding like anybody else. NO imitations here! ENJOY!” By & © Tyler S. Dodd on February 29, 2008 © 1996-2014, Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates http://www.amazon.com/Cactus-Cruz-Michael-Lee-Firkins/dp/B00000108M

"Cactus Cruz" is MLF’s third instrumental album on which he plays compositions ranging from bluegrass and jazz to swing and rock. It’s a very good album from one of the most underrated guitarists in the business. MLF has been called The fire-breathing dragon of modern American roots guitar” and he proves his fantastic ability on this album with emphasis on his unique slide guitar technique. Listen to his “Black Light Sonatas” album [All tracks @ 320 sKbps: File size = 117 Mb]


1 Freeway Lines
2 Grandma Dynomite
3 Saturday Night
4 Kick Ass Bill
5 Dollar Blues
6 Midnight Surf
7 Where Am I ?
8 San Lucas
9 I Witness
10 Sanford & Son Theme (The Streetbeater)
11 Reprise

All tracks composed by Michael Lee Firkins except Track 10 by Quincy Jones


Michael Lee Firkins - Guitar
John Purtle - Bass
Mike Vanderhule - Drums

1 comment: