Get this crazy baby off my head!


Rory Gallagher

Rory Gallagher - Notes From San Francisco (Disc 3): The Osaka Jam Sessions - 2011 - Sony

Between October 25th and November 5th 1977, Rory and his band played seven official gigs in Japan in venues at Nagoya, Hiroshima, Tokyo, and Osaka. Shortly after the band's final concert at the Nakano Sun-Plaza Hall in Tokyo on November 5th, 1977, the band flew to L.A to record a new album which remained unreleased until this year (2011), and entitled "Notes From San Francisco".The nine tracks here were recorded in a studio in Osaka, possibly during November 1977. Tracks are taken from a deluxe version of Rory Gallagher's "Notes From San Francisco" CD. Sound quality for a recording of this nature is poor. Some restoration work has been carried out on the tracks, but don't expect any sonic miracles! These are just rehearsals with plenty of band conversation, track interruptions, and abrupt endings. At times, Rory's vocals are barely audible in the mix. Nevertheless, there is enough guitar work here to keep any lover of great blues guitar happy, and it's great to hear Rory jamming the songs with his band for the proposed new album. Fans of Rory will hardly complain about this collection! (All tracks @ 320 Kbps. File size = 112 Mb). Check out http://www.todayfm.com/Competitions/rorygallagher.aspx for more on the making of the "Notes From San Francisco" album. If you're not familiar with the late Irish guitar giant, just type Rory Gallagher into any search engine


1 Rue the Day 4:20
2 Wheels Within Wheels 5:23
3 Out On the Tiles 6:32
4 B Girl 10:30
5 Cut a Dash 6:44
6 Brute Force & Ignorance 8:05
7 Cruise On Out 5:27
8 Persuasion 4:49
9 Overnight Bag 5:25

All songs composed by Rory Gallagher


Rory Gallagher - Guitars, Vocals
Gerry McAvoy - Bass
Lou Martin - Keyboards
Rod de'Ath - Drums