Get this crazy baby off my head!


Blues 'n' Trouble


Blues 'n' Trouble - Bag Full Of Boogie Live - 1994 - Barkin' Mad Records

Blues'n'Trouble's first single, "Mystery Train" quickly established them as the new force on the R&B circuits. From their earliest days playing pubs and clubs in Scotland where they have a large and devoted following, they have always been crowd pleasers. They have travelled a long way in the intervening years, gaining recognition throughout Europe and Scandinavia, as well as appearing at the Memphis Blues Festival. They recently formed their own company Barkin' Mad. Their first offering on the new label "Poor Moon" captured the energy and spirit of Blues'n'Trouble better than any of their previous recordings - praise indeed when you consider that "Down To The Shuffle" was voted TOP BRITISH ALBUM OF THE YEAR by the British Blues Connection. It would be easy to state that the strength of the band lies in the harp playing, vocals and dynamic personality of leader Tim Elliott or in the powerhouse rhythm section. Then again it could be the edge - the edge that's only acquired from hard work. Back in the old days it was a quiet week if they only played four or five gigs. That kind of experience could not be bought, it had to be painfully acquired over the years, with over 3,000 gigs behind them. © http://www.marcmarnie.com/music/mgall04/bnt.htm

Influenced by artists like Canned Heat, Captain Beefheart, the Butterfield Blues Band, Jeff Beck’s Yardbirds, Peter Green’s Fleetwood Mac, Rory Gallagher, and Howling Wolf among others this is a great live album of country rock, boogie, swamp rock, rock and roll, R&B, and Memphis/Texas/Chicago blues played "Scottish style". The album was recorded live in Scotland in December 1993 at Cafe Noir, Falkirk, The Lemon Tree, Aberdeen, King Tuts Wah Wah Hut, Glasgow, and The Preservation Hall, Edinburgh. Buy the band's great "Down To The Shuffle" album and promote real blues and R&B.


01. Bag Full Of Boogie
02. Riding In My Cadillac
03. Deep Blue Feeling
04. You Got Me Spinnin'
05. Blue Because Of You
06. Breakin' The Ice
07. Good Morning Little Schoolgirl
08. Serenade For A Wealthy Widow
09. Slim's Chance
10. Drugstore Woman
11. Looking For My Baby
12. Lowdown
13. Down In Dallas


Tim Elliott - vocals, harmonica, guitar
Mike Park - guitar
Alan Scott - bass
Lou Martin - piano, organ
Lox Lovell - drums


"The culmination of a years work is represented accurately on this our latest live recording. Last year's "Poor Moon" was a wide exploration into this multi-faceted music which we love. The arrival of Mike Park in the line-up, succeeding John Bruce (guitarist, writer and founder-member), while not radically changing the traditional hard-hitting band sound, has in fact refined it to standard endorsed by our loyal audience in Europe. These four Scottish gigs supplied the vital enthusiasm and feedback for an album of this style. The sounds themselves range through the Texas swing of "Riding In My Cadillac", brand new items such as "You Got Me Spinnin'" and "Serenade For A Wealthy Widow". The bluesy "Drugstore Woman", Tim's tribute to Sonny Boy and our own "Blue Because Of You", reflect our own approach to these classic styles. So much more here. An R&B workout of "Bag Full Of Boogie", country blues in "Good Morning Little Schoolgirl", a Chicago "Slim's Chance" and the Memphis style "Down In Dallas". So sit back, pour yourself a large one, turn the sound up and enjoy it". © Lou Martin - January 1994


BLUES ‘N’ TROUBLE is a five-piece Scottish act formed in the early 80‘s by Tim Elliott & John Bruce. Constant personnel changes were to eventually lead to a permanent line-up, which encouraged the band to turn professional & saw the release of their debut album in 1985. During the next ten years Blues ‘n’ Trouble toured & guested with many blues greats including B.B. King, Robert Cray, Pinetop Perkins, Charlie Musselwhite, Buddy Guy & Junior Wells. Blues ‘n’ Trouble supported the likes of B.B. King and Robert Cray on their live dates in London. Live, Blues ‘n’ Trouble were a hot and tight blues act that enjoyed a cult status. They recorded with “sixth Stone” Ian Stewart, enjoying indie chart success and also with Lazy Lester for which a W.C. Handy award was won! Blues ‘n’ Trouble have released 10 albums, not including re-issues & compilations. “Honey Pot” is a storming ragtime original (and tribute to oral sex) that became a live favorite, not just with BN’T but also with other bands who used to cover it. “Sloppy Drunk” and “Beautiful City” are harmonica and foot stomping classics in the style of Sonny Boy Williamson, whilst “Tearstains On My Pillow” and “Double Trouble” are beautiful searing guitar workouts. Others such as “Madison Blues”, “Cadillac” and “Let it Rock” are upbeat rock n’ roll numbers led by the dynamic “telecaster” Dave on rhythm guitar. Also of note is the honky-tonk piano on a number of the “No Minor Keys” numbers, by none other than Ian Stewart, long time pianist to the Rolling Stones. Ian Stewart recorded here for the last time before his untimely death in 1986. Their third album, “Hat Trick”, recorded by vintage blues producer Mike Vernon re-launched his “Blue Horizon” label. Chart success with “No Minor Keys” & “Hat Trick”, along with a British Blues Connection award for “Down to the Shuffle”, helped keep the band in high demand for many years, often playing around 250 shows a year all over the U.K., Scandinavia & Europe. They appeared at festivals throughout the world including the prestigious “Memphis Blues Festival”. The year 2000 saw the release of a brand new studio album “Blues Graffiti” featuring all new tracks from the line up of Timmy Boy Elliot on vocals & harp, Mike Park on guitars, Scotty Scott on bass & Lucky Lox Lovell on drums. The album reflects the band’s live-sound, no nonsense mix of hard hitting rockin’ Blues and Boogie. This double CD includes selected tracks from their 1987 “Hat Trick” album & the same year’s live album recorded in Germany, all re-mastered & some previously unreleased tracks from the band’s sold out “festival” shows in Edinburgh, again in 1987. The year 2000 also saw the return of founder member John Bruce to the band, and along with Tim, Scotty, Mike and Lox, the revitalized quintet look forward to continue success. The band’s 10th album, “Devil’s Tricks” is a new approach but the same old Blues ‘n’ Trouble. © 2011 Last.fm Ltd. All rights reserved http://www.last.fm/music/Blues+'n'+Trouble/+wiki/diff?&a=1&b=2


A.O.O.F.C said...


p/w aoofc

guinea pig said...

Excellent sound! I like these type of music! It is like a life - full with different surprises!

A.O.O.F.C said...

Hi,GP (No.1). It's good heartfelt, downhome blues. It doesn't rely on long guitar solos, but still has bite. Thanks & TTU soon....P

A.O.O.F.C said...

Hi,GP (No.1). It's good heartfelt, downhome blues. It doesn't rely on long guitar solos, but still has bite. Thanks & TTU soon....P