Get this crazy baby off my head!


Christian Rannenberg

Christian Rannenberg - Cool Blue - 2000 - Acous

Christian Rannenberg, the German blues pianist, may be an unfamiliar name to many people, but he is one of the most renowned blues piano players on the current jazz scene. In 1976 he was a co-founder of the "Blues Company". In 1982 he moved to Chicago, and played with blues musicians of the calibre of John Littlejohn, Lefty dizz, Sam Lay and Jimmy Rogers. The same year, he formed The International Blues Duo with the great tenor saxophonist, Gary Wiggins, with whom he recorded an album. The International Blues Duo toured Europe during the eighties, both as a duo, and also with artists like John Heartsman, Angela Brown, Guitar Crusher, Big Jay McNeely and Charlie Musselwhite. Christian also toured Europe with the great Aron Burton, the bass player, singer and songwriter, who is a big name on the Chicago Blues Scene. "Cool Blues" is a quality album with really top class piano from Christian, as well as some superb nusicians, including Aron Burton on bass, and vocals. Christian's own compositions are very good, and he does a few great versions of standards like "Willow Weep For Me" and Stephen Foster's "Swanee River Boogie." This is boogie piano blues as it should be played. Try and listen to Christian Rannenberg's "Blues" album, or Doug Jay & The Blue Jays great 2007 "Under The Radar" album, which features some great playing from Christian.


1. Honey From Amsterdam - Christian Rannenberg
2. Blue Boogaloo - Christian Rannenberg
3. Any Day But Today - Aron Burton
4. Chicago Rock - Christian Rannenberg
5. Bye Bye Tiger - Christian Rannenberg
6. Boogie Woogie Red Special - Christian Rannenberg
7. Since You've Been Gone - Haskell "Cool Papa" Sadler
8. Hooked - Christian Rannenberg
9. Willow Weep For Me - Ann Ronell
10. Swanee River Boogie - S.Foster
11. Early Morning Blues - Aron Burton/Christian Rannenberg
12. Red's Delight - John "Piano Red " Williams
13. Nobody's Fool - Hamblin/Stocking


Christian Rannenberg: piano, vocals
Ulises Arturo: guitar
Richard Bargel: guitar
Jan Hirte: guitar
Aron Burton: bass, vocals
B. Plant: harmonica